Compact Suv
Toyota Corolla Cross
1.8 HEV XS
R506 100List price, as at 2026-08-03
At a glance
Power
90 kW
Consumption
4.3 L/100km
Boot
440 L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
400 kg
Cover
6 services / 90 000 km
Service plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R8 846 / month
Estimated fuel
R1 684 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R682 409
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Chery Tiggo 4 Cross
LiT CVT 1.5L · SUV · R309 900
Renault Duster
1.2 Turbo Zen 4WD Mild Hybrid (MHEV) · SUV · R549 999
Haval Jolion Pro
HEV Ultra Luxury · SUV · R521 450
Dongfeng 06
Range · SUV · R499 000 - R579 000
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 1.8 L |
| Cylinders | 4noteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Number of Cylinders and Arrangement" = "Inline 4". |
| Power | 90 kWnoteToyota's published combined hybrid system output, reused from sibling GR-S record. |
| Torque | 142 NmnotePer sibling record: engine-only torque is not a combined system total, left unknown. |
| Transmission | CVT |
| Gears | N/A |
| Drivetrain | FWD |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteToyota South Africa does not name the test standard for this car, and the sibling record it was taken from does not either. |
| Fuel consumption | 4.3 L/100kmnoteToyota SA Corolla Cross spec sheet lists the 1.8 HEV XS at 4.3 L/100km combined (same figure across all Hybrid derivatives). Figure is published for this derivative, not carried from a sibling. |
| Fuel tank | 36 LnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Fuel Tank Size (L)" = "36". |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteToyota does not state the fuel grade for this engine in any market we could find. |
| Range | 837 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 11.96 snote11.96 seconds, measured in a South African road test of this version. |
| CO2 emissions | 98 g/kmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "CO2 (g/km)" = "98". |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5noteStandard 5-door configuration for this body style. |
| Length | 4 460 mmnoteToyota's Corolla Cross specification sheet gives one overall length for the model and does not itemise it per grade, so this figure is not specific to the XS. |
| Width | 1 825 mmnoteSame source as the length on this record. |
| Height | 1 620 mmnoteSame source as the length on this record. |
| Wheelbase | 2 640 mmnoteSame source as the length on this record. |
| Ground clearance | 161 mmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Ground Clearance (mm)" = "161". |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 440 Lnote440 litres with the seats up. Toyota South Africa gives 440 in two documents (434 in a third); Toyota Malaysia confirms the hybrid has the same boot as the petrol. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 440 LnoteThe Corolla Cross is a five-seater, so the space behind the last row is the same as behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 1 850 kgnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM)" = "1850". |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 400 kgnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Towing Capacity - Braked (kg)" = "400". |
| Towing (unbraked) | 400 kgnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Towing Capacity - Unbraked (kg)" = "400". |
| Safety rating | Global NCAP · 2 stars adult · 3 stars child (2026) |
| Airbags | 5noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Side, Driver, Passenger, Driver KneenoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code P42, field "Airbags" = "Side,Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteSame 3yr/100,000km warranty applies range-wide. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 6 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnote12 months / 15 000 km. |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteManufacturer source states: "Space Saver T155-70D17". |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | Not specified |
| Battery (gross) | Not specified |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteEight years, from Toyota South Africa’s specification sheet. |
| Battery warranty distance | 160 000 kmnote160 000 km, from Toyota South Africa’s specification sheet. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Fuel grade (unverified) — Toyota does not state the fuel grade for this engine in any market we could find.
- 0-100 km/h (unverified) — 11.96 seconds, measured in a South African road test of this version.
- Boot (seats folded) — Toyota does not publish a seats-folded boot figure for this Corolla Cross.
- Kerb weight — Toyota publishes the kerb weight as a range (1 385–1 430 kg), not a single figure.
- Payload — Derivable only as a RANGE and “Payload” is a scalar integer: GVM 1 850 kg (the hybrid row; the petrol GVM is 1 815) minus kerb 1 430/1 385 kg gives 420-465 kg. pdf. Toyota SA publishes no payload row. Not collapsed, for the same reason as “Kerb weight”.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Battery (usable) — Toyota publishes no hybrid battery capacity for the Corolla Cross. The capacity changed with the facelift, and no South African source states which pack the current car carries.
- Battery (gross) — Toyota publishes no hybrid battery capacity for the Corolla Cross. The capacity changed with the facelift, and no South African source states which pack the current car carries.










