Large Suv
BMW XM
R3Â 400Â 000 to R3Â 675Â 000List price, as at 2026-01-01, across the range

PhotographySport Utility Vehicles · 10 images
At a glance
These figures describe the XM. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
480Â kW
XM only · other-market source
Consumption
1.6Â L/100km
XM only · other-market source
Boot
527Â L
XM only
Seats
5
other-market source
Towing (braked)
2Â 700Â kg
XM only
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| XM the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R3Â 400Â 000 | Not stated |
| XM Label | 5 | R3Â 675Â 000 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the XM. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 4.4Â Lnote4 395 cm3 twin-turbo V8, paired with an electric motor built into the gearbox. |
| Cylinders | 8noteBMW South Africa. |
| Power | 480Â kW · other-market sourcenoteCombined system output: a 360 kW V8 plus a 145 kW electric motor. The XM Label lifts this to 550 kW. |
| Torque | 800Â NmnoteCombined system torque; the XM Label makes 1 000 Nm. |
| Transmission | 8-speed M Steptronic automaticnoteThe electric motor sits inside the gearbox housing. |
| Gears | 8noteBMW South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteM xDrive all-wheel drive; unibody, not ladder-frame. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTP · other-market sourcenoteWeighted combined WLTP. |
| Fuel consumption | 1.6Â L/100km · other-market sourcenoteWeighted combined plug-in-hybrid figure of 1,5-1,6 l/100 km - it assumes you start every trip with a full battery, so real-world petrol use is far higher once the battery is flat. |
| Fuel tank | 69Â LnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 4Â 312Â kmnotefuel_tank_l \u00f7 consumption_l100 \u00d7 100, floored. |
| 0-100 km/h | 4.3Â snoteTop speed 250 km/h, or 270 km/h with the M Driver's Package. The 550 kW Label does 3,8 s. |
| CO2 emissions | 36Â g/km · other-market sourcenoteWeighted combined plug-in-hybrid figure of 33-36 g/km - it assumes a full battery at the start of every trip. |
| Seats | 5 · other-market sourcenoteFive seats; no third row is offered. |
| Doors | 5 · other-market sourcenoteFour doors plus a tailgate. |
| Length | 5Â 110Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Width | 2Â 005Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 755Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 3Â 105Â mmnoteBMW SA's XM model page omits the wheelbase; the figure is on BMW SA's own XM technical data page. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 527Â LnoteRear seats upright. The battery under the boot floor costs it space against a non-hybrid SUV of this size. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 527Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 820Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteBMW quotes luggage volumes to the European VDA method. |
| Kerb weight | 2Â 710Â kgnoteDIN kerb weight; the 550 kW Label is 2 795 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3Â 300Â kgnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Payload | 580Â kgnoteManufacturer-published permitted load for the version sold in South Africa. |
| Towing (braked) | 2Â 700Â kgnoteWith the optional towbar. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kg · other-market sourcenoteBMW other figure for the same body and engine. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BMW XM. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BMW XM. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | Not specified |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 2 yearsnoteSouth African new-vehicle warranty runs for two years with no distance limit. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Service interval (time) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~46 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 Provincial spread not measured. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | 82Â kmnoteElectric-only WLTP range; the manufacturer quotes a band of 76 to 82 km for this version, and 82 km is the upper figure. |
| Electric-only range | 88Â km · other-market sourcenote82-88 km on the WLTP cycle on battery alone; hard driving, hills and highway speeds will cut that sharply. |
| Battery (gross) | 25.7Â kWhnoteUsable capacity. The pack's gross capacity is 29,5 kWh. |
| Max DC charging | 0Â kW · GB-market sourcenoteThis plug-in hybrid charges on alternating current only and cannot be fast-charged on a DC charger. |
| Max AC charging | 7.4Â kW · other-market sourcenoteA full charge from empty takes about 4 hours 15 minutes on a 7,4 kW wallbox. |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the XM. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- Ground clearance — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BMW XM. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BMW XM. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags — Not published in the sources checked.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service plan services — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- DC charge 10-80% — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty distance — Not published in the sources checked.










