Volvo XC40
At a glance
These figures describe the XC40 B3 Essential (2026 model year). Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| XC40 B3 Essential (2026 model year) the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R750Â 000 | Not stated |
| XC40 Plus (2027 model year; B3 per ZA spec page) | 5 | R755Â 000 | Not stated |
| XC40 B4 Plus Dark (2026 model year) | 5 | R842Â 300 | Not stated |
| XC40 Recharge Single Motor Plus | 5 | R1Â 108Â 000 | Not stated |
| XC40 Recharge Twin Motor Ultimate | 5 | R1Â 298Â 000 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the XC40 B3 Essential (2026 model year). Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2Â Lnote2.0-litre turbo petrol with 48V mild hybrid |
| Cylinders | 4noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 110Â kWnoteB3 mild hybrid |
| Torque | 265Â NmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Transmission | 8-speed Geartronic automaticnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Gears | 8noteVolvo South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTPnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.3Â L/100kmnoteCombined figure |
| Fuel tank | 54Â LnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleadednoteManufacturer's owner information for the XC40 petrol engines: 95 RON minimum; 98 recommended. |
| Range | 740Â kmnoteDerived: 54 l tank / 7.3 l/100km |
| 0-100 km/h | 10.1Â snoteVolvo South Africa. |
| CO2 emissions | 162Â g/kmnoteSouth African specification database figure; single source. |
| Seats | 5noteVolvo South Africa. |
| Doors | 5noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Length | 4Â 440Â mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Width | 1Â 873Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors (2,034 mm with mirrors) |
| Height | 1Â 652Â mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 702Â mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 211Â mmnoteSouth African specification database figure; single source. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 443Â Lnote443 l to load cover; up to 569 l to roof |
| Boot (behind last row) | 443Â LnoteFive-seater: behind the second row is behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 432Â LnoteSeats folded, to roof |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 617Â kg · IE-market sourcenoteThe manufacturer publishes this as a minimum kerb weight for this engine in its Irish specification; a given car weighs a little more depending on how it is optioned. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 220Â kgnoteB3 |
| Payload | 532 kg · IE-market sourcenoteThe manufacturer’s maximum payload for this engine in its Irish specification, where the gross weight is quoted 20 kg lower than the South African figure shown above; it varies with how the car is specified. |
| Towing (braked) | 1Â 800Â kgnoteB3 (B4: 2,100 kg) |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kg · IE-market sourcenoteThe manufacturer's figure for a trailer without brakes, given for this engine in two of its own documents. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP's 5-star 2018 rating is past its six-year validity. ANCAP's 2018 rating has expired. |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags per the manufacturer's South African owner information: driver, driver's knee, passenger, two front side airbags and two curtains. Some local press reports say six. |
| Airbag positions | driver, driver knee, front passenger, front side x2, curtain x2noteFrom the manufacturer's South African owner information. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20Â 000Â kmnotePetrol Volvos in South Africa are serviced every 20,000 km or 12 months. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteEvery 12 months or 20,000 km, whichever comes first. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | Not specified |
| Battery (gross) | Not specified |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the XC40 B3 Essential (2026 model year). Other derivatives in this range differ.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — South African specification database figure; single source.
- Ground clearance (unverified) — South African specification database figure; single source.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service network — Service-outlet count not readable from the brand's South African locator.
- Battery (usable) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery (gross) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty distance — Not published in the sources checked.










