BYD Atto 3 Extended Range
At a glance
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, interest at 11.75% (prime 10.75%, South African Reserve Bank from 25 Sep 2026, plus 1%), 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at 95 petrol R30.25/L (inland, official prices from 7 Oct 2026). Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | N/A |
| Cylinders | N/A |
| Power | 150 kWnote150 kW, matching the 204 hp BYD South Africa quotes on its own model page. |
| Torque | 310 NmnoteMaximum torque 310 Nm, corroborated by BYD SA’s own model page. Was unverified. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Transmission | Single-speed automaticnoteStandard single-speed reduction typical of BEVs. |
| Gears | 1noteSingle-speed reduction gearbox typical of BEVs. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteDrivetrain: front-wheel drive, single permanent-magnet synchronous motor. Was estimated. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | N/A |
| Fuel tank | N/A |
| Fuel grade | N/A |
| Range | N/A |
| 0-100 km/h | 7.3 s |
| CO2 emissions | 0 g/kmnoteZero tailpipe emissions by definition of a BEV. |
| Seats | 5noteSeating capacity 5. Was estimated. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Doors | 5noteStandard 5-door configuration for this body style. |
| Length | 4 455 mmnoteOverall length 4,455 mm. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Width | 1 875 mmnoteOverall width 1,875 mm. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Height | 1 615 mmnoteOverall height 1,615 mm. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Wheelbase | 2 720 mmnoteWheelbase 2,720 mm. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Ground clearance | 175 mmnoteThe sheet publishes ground clearance in two states, laden and unladen. 175 mm is the unladen figure; the laden figure is lower and is not stored. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 310 Lnote310 litres with the spare tyre fitted, 440 litres without it. The lower figure is recorded because this car is listed with a spare. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 310 LnoteThe Atto 3 is a five-seater, so the space behind the last row is the same as behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 340 LnoteLuggage capacity maximum 1,340 L. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Kerb weight | 1 750 kgnoteKerb weight is printed as the pair 1,680 / 1,750 kg; 1,750 kg is the Extended Range column. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 160 kgnote2 160 kg, from two international specification databases for the Extended Range. |
| Payload | 410 kgnote410 kg: gross vehicle mass (2 160 kg) minus kerb weight (1 750 kg). |
| Towing (braked) | 750 kgnoteAbout 750 kg braked. BYD South Africa does not publish a towing figure; this is an international figure for the pre-facelift car. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2022) |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags, including a front centre airbag. |
| Airbag positions | Front airbag, Front side airbag, Front far-side airbag, Front side curtain airbagnoteThe four airbag rows itemised in the sheet’s Safety and Security column. “Airbags” deliberately NOT derived from this list. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteBYD South Africa gives five years or 100 000 km on this model. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSame source as the warranty term on this record. |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnote20 000 km. BYD South Africa does not publish an interval; two independent South African sources, one of them a franchised BYD dealer, give the same figure. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnote12 months, from the same two current South African sources as “Service interval (distance)”. Not published by BYD SA. |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteA space-saver spare wheel, per BYD South Africa’s own specification sheet. |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Sales-and-aftersales flag in BYD's own locator: 22 of 63 SA pins. The other 41 are sales-only and are excluded. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | 420 km |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | 60.5 kWhnoteWidely reported for the Extended Range variant. |
| Battery (gross) | 60.48 kWhnoteBattery capacity is printed as the pair 49.92 / 60.48 kWh; 60.48 kWh is the Extended Range column. This is the nominal/gross figure the sheet publishes. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| Max DC charging | 88 kWnoteUp to 88 kW DC. BYD South Africa’s model page quotes 80 kW for the Atto 3 without naming the version. |
| Max AC charging | 7 kWnoteAC charging port: Type 2, 7 kW, matching the 7 kW wall charger named on BYD SA’s model page. Was unverified. BYD South Africa, ATTO 3 vehicle specification sheet linked (BYD ATTO 3 Vehicle Specifications.pdf),. The sheet prints Standard Range / Extended Range as a pair; this record is the Extended Range. The mapping is confirmed by the record’s existing official WLTP figure of 420 km, which is the second value of the sheet’s "345 / 420". |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteBYD SA states: "The warranty period of the Power Battery is 8 years or 200,000 km, whichever comes first." CORRECTION: “Battery warranty distance” was 150000 on this record, at unverified, on the note "Widely reported 8yr/150,000km battery warranty." The manufacturer's own SA statement says 200 000. The confidence was honest; the figure was wrong by 50 000 km. |
| Battery warranty distance | 200 000 kmnoteSee “Battery warranty”, including the 150 000 -> 200 000 correction. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Towing (braked) (unverified) — About 750 kg braked. BYD South Africa does not publish a towing figure; this is an international figure for the pre-facelift car.
- Towing (unbraked) — BYD South Africa does not publish an unbraked towing figure.
- Battery (usable) (unverified) — Widely reported for the Extended Range variant.
- DC charge 10-80% — BYD publishes a 30–80% time (29 minutes), not a 10–80% time.















