Compact Suv
Volvo EC40
From R1 396 800List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the EC40 Twin Motor.
Power
300 kW
Range
650 km
Boot
404 L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
1 800 kg
Cover
2 services / 3 years / 60 000 km
Maintenance plan
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| EC40 Twin Motor the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R1 396 800 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
BMW iX2
Range · SUV · R1 330 000
BMW iX1
Range · SUV · R1 210 000 - R1 255 000
Land Rover Range Rover Evoque
Range · SUV · R1 147 000 - R1 749 400
Lexus UX
Range · SUV · R957 100 - R1 087 800
Full specifications
The figures below describe the EC40 Twin Motor.
| Engine capacity | N/A |
| Cylinders | N/A |
| Power | 300 kWnoteTwin motor |
| Torque | 670 NmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Transmission | single-speed automaticnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Gears | 1noteDerived from published figures. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | N/A |
| Fuel tank | N/A |
| Fuel grade | N/A |
| Range | 650 kmnoteWLTP, 'up to' |
| 0-100 km/h | 4.7 snoteVolvo South Africa. |
| CO2 emissions | N/A |
| Seats | 5noteVolvo South Africa. |
| Doors | 5note5-door coupe-SUV |
| Length | 4 440 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Width | 1 873 mmnoteExcluding mirrors (2,034 mm with) |
| Height | 1 591 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2 702 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 177 mm · UK-market sourcenoteUnladen figure from the manufacturer's UK specification for the Twin Motor (171 mm with one occupant). |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 404 Lnote404 l to cover, 480 l to roof; plus 31 l front trunk |
| Boot (behind last row) | 404 LnoteFive-seater: behind the second row is behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 310 LnoteSeats folded (958 l to cover) |
| Kerb weight | 2 185 kgnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 620 kgnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Payload | 435 kgnoteCalculated from the gross vehicle mass and kerb weight already held for this derivative, both taken from the manufacturer's South African material. |
| Towing (braked) | 1 800 kgnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · UK-market sourcenoteManufacturer's UK specification for the same 300 kW Twin Motor. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP's 2018 XC40 rating, which listed the electric versions, is past its six-year validity. The 2022 five-star rating for the C40 Recharge (now EC40) was tested with a centre airbag, which the South African car isn't confirmed to have (a local dealer lists seven airbags). |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags per a South African dealer specification; not confirmed by the manufacturer. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year/100,000 km vehicle warranty. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 2 services / 3 years / 60 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 30 000 kmnoteVolvo electric cars in South Africa are serviced every 30,000 km or 24 months. |
| Service interval (time) | 24 months |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | 650 kmnoteSee plausibility note in audit |
| Electric-only range | 650 kmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Battery (usable) | 79 kWh · UK-market sourcenoteManufacturer's UK specification for the 82 kWh Twin Motor. |
| Battery (gross) | 82 kWhnoteNominal |
| Max DC charging | 200 kWnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Max AC charging | 11 kWnoteDerived from 3-phase 16A charging |
| DC charge 10-80% | 28 minnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Battery warranty distance | 160 000 kmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the EC40 Twin Motor.
- Airbags (unverified) — Seven airbags per a South African dealer specification; not confirmed by the manufacturer.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service network — Service-outlet count not readable from the brand's South African locator.










