Bakkie Flagship derivative
Toyota Hilux Double Cab
2.8 GD-6 4x4 Legend MHEV 6AT
R999 900List price, as at 2026-09-09
At a glance
Power
150 kW
Consumption
7.5 L/100km
Load box
1 555 mm
length
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
3 500 kg
Cover
9 services / 90 000 km
Service plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R17 477 / month
Estimated fuel
R2 938 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R1 324 838
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Isuzu D-Max Double Cab
3.0 DDI Arctic 4X4 A/T · Bakkie · R1 211 910
Volkswagen Amarok
DC Aventura 3.0 V6 TDI 4Motion 10-spd Auto · Bakkie · R1 259 700
Isuzu D-Max Double Cab
3.0 DDi V-Cross 4X4 A/T · Bakkie · R948 930
Toyota Fortuner
2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX 6AT · SUV · R970 000
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 2.8 L |
| Cylinders | 4noteNormalised from the string "Inline-4" to the integer 4. Toyota South Africa Motors states "Number of Cylinders and Arrangement" = "Inline 4" for derivative code B1K. The catalogue census of found this was the ONLY non-numeric value in the field across all 55 records — an outlier, not a competing convention. |
| Power | 150 kW |
| Torque | 500 Nm |
| Transmission | Automatic 6-speed |
| Gears | 6noteGear count read from this record’s own structured transmission field ("Automatic 6-speed"). Normalisation of an existing sourced value into its own field, not an external specification lookup — provenance is that of the transmission value, not a manufacturer statement of gear count. |
| Drivetrain | 4x4 |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteToyota South Africa gives a combined figure without naming the test cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.5 L/100kmnoteRenamed from an out-of-schema 'consumption_combined_l_100km' field to “Fuel consumption”; value unchanged (7.5 L/100km combined). |
| Fuel tank | 80 LnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code B1K, field "Fuel Tank Size (L)" = "80". |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm) |
| Range | 1 066 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 11.9 snote11.9 seconds, Toyota’s UK claim (0–62 mph) for the same 2.8 48V Hilux. |
| CO2 emissions | 197 g/km |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 4 |
| Length | 5 320 mm |
| Width | 1 885 mm |
| Height | 1 865 mm |
| Wheelbase | 3 085 mm |
| Ground clearance | 312 mmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code B1K, field "Ground Clearance (mm)" = "312". |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | N/A |
| Boot (behind last row) | N/A |
| Boot (seats folded) | N/A |
| Kerb weight | 2 155 kgnoteRenamed from an out-of-schema 'kerb_weight_kg' field to “Kerb weight”; value unchanged (2155kg). |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 950 kgnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code B1K, field "Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM)" = "2950". |
| Payload | 795 kgnoteGVM 2 950 kg minus kerb 2 155 kg = 795 kg, both from the exact derivative column of Toyota SA spec sheet (issued 2026/09/04), 4X4 LEGEND MHEV 6AT column, — South Africa. Toyota UK’s figures were deliberately NOT used: UK gives GVW 3 210/3 250 kg and payload 1 035-1 065 kg, a different homologation. SA payload is derived from SA figures only. |
| Towing (braked) | 3 500 kgnoteMoved from the bakkie group (loadbox-only) to core, where towing fields belong per schema. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kgnoteMoved from the bakkie group (loadbox-only) to core, where towing fields belong per schema. |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2025) |
| Airbags | 7noteToyota SA Hilux Legend spec sheet lists airbags as Side, Curtain, Driver, Passenger, Driver Knee; the count of 7 is derived by counting side and curtain as pairs (2 side + 2 curtain + driver + passenger + driver knee), per the standard configuration. |
| Airbag positions | Side, Curtain, Driver, Passenger, Driver KneenoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code B1K, field "Airbags" = "Side,Curtain,Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteSourced directly from Toyota SA's own site, not a foreign market. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSourced directly from Toyota SA's own site, not a foreign market. |
| Service plan | 9 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 10 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteManufacturer source states: "Spare Wheel Full Alloy". |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Differential lock | RearnoteRear differential lock. |
| Low range | YesnoteFour-wheel drive with a transfer case, so high and low range. |
| Approach angle | 29°note29 degrees. |
| Departure angle | 25°note25 degrees. |
| Wading depth | 700 mm · EU-market sourcenote700 mm, and the vehicle may stand in water at that depth for up to ten minutes. |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (gross) | 0.21 kWhnoteAnd flagged: NO manufacturer in ANY market publishes a kWh rating for this pack. Toyota publishes the pack as 4.3 Ah, 13 cells, lithium-ion, 7.6 kg, housed under the rear seats; 48 V x 4.3 Ah = 206 Wh, recorded as 0.21 kWh. pdf, "Diesel 48V" row, — United Kingdom ("Lithium-ion", "4.3Ahr", "13" cells) and the Toyota Europe newsroom release for the Hilux Hybrid 48V, which confirms the ninth generation uses a 48V lithium-ion battery beneath the rear seats. This is arithmetic on manufacturer-published inputs, not a manufacturer figure — hence derived. |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteToyota South Africa states no separate warranty term for the mild-hybrid battery. |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
| Load box length | 1 555 mmnote1 555 mm, Toyota’s UK figure for the same Hilux Double Cab 48V. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Breakover angle — Not published for this version.
- Battery warranty distance — Toyota South Africa’s current sheet gives 160 000 km; some South African reports give 195 000 km. Held open until resolved.










