Bakkie Flagship derivative

Volkswagen Amarok

DC Aventura 3.0 V6 TDI 4Motion 10-spd Auto
R1 259 700List price, as at 2026-08-06

At a glance

Power
184 kW
Consumption
8.4 L/100km
Boot
Not specified
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan

Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)

Estimated instalment
R22 018 / month
Estimated fuel
R3 290 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R1 644 421

Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.

Decide

Similar vehicles

Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.

Ford Ranger
Platinum 3.0 V6 Turbo Diesel 4WD 10AT · Bakkie · R1 187 000
Toyota Hilux Double Cab
2.8 GD-6 4x4 Legend MHEV 6AT · Bakkie · R999 900
Isuzu D-Max Double Cab
3.0 DDI Arctic 4X4 A/T · Bakkie · R1 211 910
Ford Everest
3.0 V6 4WD Platinum 10AT · SUV · R1 340 000

Full specifications

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 3 L
Cylinders 6
note"3.0 V6 TDI" - six-cylinder by definition.
Power 184 kW
Torque Not specified
Transmission 10-speed automatic
Gears 10
Drivetrain 4x4
note"4Motion" is Volkswagen’s all-wheel-drive branding, mapped to the bakkie 4x4 enum used elsewhere in the catalogue.
Consumption cycle NEDC
noteVW Amarok spec sheet (VW-Amarok-Spec.pdf, 2025): row 'Fuel consumption (NEDC 1999/100/EC)' = 8.4 for 3.0 V6 TDI Aventura 4Motion; disclaimer 'Fuel consumption measurements is in accordance with the NEDC/1999/100/EC'. Names NEDC and cites the EU directive 1999/100/EC (rule 1+2) = nedc.
Fuel consumption 8.4 L/100km
Fuel tank Not specified
Fuel grade Diesel (50ppm)
noteDiesel V6 engine; South African diesel bakkies of this class run on 50ppm diesel.
Range Not specified
0-100 km/h Not specified
CO2 emissions Not specified
Seats 5
noteStandard 5-seat configuration for a Double Cab bakkie.
Doors 4
noteDouble Cab bodystyle - four passenger doors, matching the convention used for the Ranger and Hilux records.
Length 5 350 mm
Width Not specified
Height Not specified
Wheelbase 3 270 mm
note"A wheelbase of 3,270mm."
Ground clearance Not specified
Boot (behind 2nd row) Not specified
Boot (behind last row) Not specified
Boot (seats folded) Not specified
Boot (standard) Not specified
Kerb weight Not specified
Gross vehicle mass Not specified
Payload Not specified
Towing (braked) Not specified
Towing (unbraked) Not specified
Safety
Safety rating Not specified
Airbags Not specified
Airbag positions Not specified
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 4 years
noteCORRECTION. The record held 3 years / 100 000 km, which is the PREVIOUS-generation Amarok. VW SA’s commercial warranty document lists both side by side — "Amarok 3 year/ 100,000 km" and "New Amarok 4 year/ 120,000 km" — and the launch release for the current car states it "comes standard with a 4-year/ 120 000km warranty, a 5-year/ 100 000km EasyDrive Maintenance Plan and a 6-year anticorrosion warranty". The current Aventura carries 4 years / 120 000 km.
Warranty distance 120 000 km
30 000 km/year · derived
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
noteCORRECTION. The record held 3 years / 100 000 km, which is the PREVIOUS-generation Amarok. VW SA’s commercial warranty document lists both side by side — "Amarok 3 year/ 100,000 km" and "New Amarok 4 year/ 120,000 km" — and the launch release for the current car states it "comes standard with a 4-year/ 120 000km warranty, a 5-year/ 100 000km EasyDrive Maintenance Plan and a 6-year anticorrosion warranty". The current Aventura carries 4 years / 120 000 km.
Maintenance plan 5 years / 100 000 km
How it is supplied Included with the vehicle
Service interval (distance) Not specified
Service interval (time) Not specified
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
noteManufacturer source states: "Full-sized spare wheel (alloy)".
Service network ~129 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026
In all 9 provinces.
Service & Parts department modelled per pin in Volkswagen's own locator.
Compare service networks across all brands →
Load Box
Load box length Not specified

What we can't tell you yet

These fields are not confirmed from an official South African source. Rather than guess, we've left them marked as unknown.

Appears in