Toyota Fortuner
At a glance
These figures describe the 2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX 6AT. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Everything on the Toyota Fortuner
For sale
Compare
- Ford Everest vs Toyota Fortuner
- Toyota Fortuner vs Toyota Hilux Double Cab
- Toyota Fortuner vs Toyota Land Cruiser Prado
- Isuzu Mu X vs Toyota Fortuner
Buyer's guides
More Toyota Fortuner records
Running costs
Ownership
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| 2.4 GD-6 RB 6MT | 7 | R692 800 | Full-size |
| 2.4 GD-6 RB 6AT | 7 | R720 000 | Full-size |
| 2.4 GD-6 4X4 6AT | 7 | R754 000 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 RB 6AT | 7 | R843 000 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 RB 6AT 48V | 7 | R851 500 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 RB VX 6AT | 7 | R888 400 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 RB VX 6AT 48V | 7 | R897 000 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 4X4 6AT | 7 | R926 000 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 4X4 6AT 48V | 7 | R937 100 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX 6AT the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R970 000 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX 6AT 48V | 7 | R981 100 | Full-size |
| 2.8 GD-6 4x4 GR-S 6AT | 7 | R1 019 100 | Full-size |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the 2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX 6AT. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2.8 LnoteDisplacement stated directly in the derivative name and confirmed in the spec table (2755cc). |
| Cylinders | 4noteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "Number of Cylinders and Arrangement" = "Inline 4". |
| Power | 150 kW |
| Torque | 500 Nm |
| Transmission | 6-speed automatic with paddle shift |
| Gears | 6 |
| Drivetrain | 4x4noteToyota SA's spec table lists Driven Wheels as '4WD/ Part-Time'. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteCycle not stated beyond 'Combined Cycle'; recorded as sa_combined_unstated. The 7.9 L/100km figure itself remains an official manufacturer-published number -- only the cycle label is unconfirmed. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.9 L/100kmnoteRead from Toyota SA's compare tool, labelled 'Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' with no named test standard. |
| Fuel tank | 80 L |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel confirmed by fuel system spec; 50ppm low-sulphur grade standard for current SA-market diesel Toyotas. |
| Range | 1 012 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 9.79 snoteToyota publishes no 0–100 km/h figure for the Fortuner in any market. This is an instrumented test result, not a manufacturer claim. |
| CO2 emissions | 209 g/kmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "CO2 (g/km)" = "209". |
| Seats | 7note7-seat configuration standard across the current Fortuner range, consistent with GR-S in this catalogue; not separately re-confirmed on the VX-specific compare page. |
| Doors | 5 |
| Length | 4 795 mm |
| Width | 1 855 mm |
| Height | 1 835 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2 745 mm |
| Ground clearance | 279 mmnote279 mm is Toyota South Africa’s own figure, printed identically for all twelve local derivatives. Sources outside South Africa give roughly 216–219 mm, which looks like a different measurement basis rather than a disagreement about the car. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 716 Lnote716 litres with the third row folded, from two Australian reviews of the same seven-seat body. Toyota South Africa does not publish it. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 200 LnoteNot published for VX by Toyota SA; derived from the GR-S record in this catalogue on the basis of the identical shared body shell and cargo area across current Fortuner grades. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 080 LnoteSee “Boot (behind last row)” -- same shared-body-shell basis. |
| Kerb weight | 2 190 kgnoteToyota South Africa publishes no kerb weight row for this derivative at all — searched, not missed. The figure held here comes from a specification database rather than from Toyota. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 735 kg |
| Payload | 545 kgnoteWorked out from Toyota South Africa’s GVM of 2 735 kg less the kerb weight, which Toyota does not publish. |
| Towing (braked) | 3 300 kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNot applicable, established. Global NCAP (including its Safer Cars for Africa campaign) has not tested this vehicle. Not applicable, established (Toyota gap-fill batch 1). Euro NCAP has not tested this vehicle. Applicability was established before treating the absence as missing data, per the catalogue research policy. ANCAP’s five-star Fortuner rating covers cars built between October 2019 and December 2025 and has itself expired, so it does not describe the car on sale now. |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags — driver, front passenger, curtain, driver’s knee and front side — as listed in Toyota South Africa’s own Fortuner brochure. |
| Airbag positions | Side, Curtain, Driver, Passenger, Driver KneenoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "Airbags" = "Side,Curtain,Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteToyota South Africa covers every new vehicle for three years or 100 000 km, whichever comes first. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSee “Warranty”, including the "unlimited cover" caution. |
| Service plan | 9 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 10 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteManufacturer source states: "Full Alloy". |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Differential lock | RearnotePresence confirmed on Toyota SA's VX spec table ('Differential Lock: With'); location (rear) derived from the GR-S sibling's shared 4x4 configuration. |
| Low range | YesnoteStandard on all current Fortuner 4x4 grades. |
| Approach angle | 29°noteNot published by Toyota South Africa; the Fortuner body is the same across grades, so the GR-S figure applies. |
| Departure angle | 25°noteSee approach_angle_deg. |
| Breakover angle | 23.5°noteSee approach_angle_deg. |
| Wading depth | 700 mmnoteSee approach_angle_deg. |
Appears in
2 Toyota Fortuners in stock — from R869 990 — view them
Shown for the Toyota Fortuner nameplate. Vehicles for sale may differ in derivative, year and specification from the model described above.











