Toyota Fortuner 2.8 GD-6 4x4 6AT
One derivative of the Toyota Fortuner. Everything on the model, with rivals and cars for sale: Toyota Fortuner →
At a glance
What it costs to own
Worked out for the Fortuner 2.8 GD-6 4x4 6AT (R926 000), on a 10% deposit over 72 months at 11.75% interest, driving 20 000 km a year.
Fuel at 7.9 L/100 km and R32.80/L (today's official inland price). Excludes insurance, licensing and servicing. An estimate from these assumptions, not a finance quote.
Decide
Get a quote on this model
We'll confirm availability and the best price from a dealer.
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 2.8 LnoteDisplacement stated directly in the derivative name and confirmed in the spec table (2755cc). |
| Cylinders | 4noteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "Number of Cylinders and Arrangement" = "Inline 4". |
| Power | 150 kW |
| Torque | 500 Nm |
| Transmission | 6-speed automatic with paddle shift |
| Gears | 6 |
| Drivetrain | 4x4noteToyota SA's spec table lists Driven Wheels as '4WD/ Part-Time'. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteToyota South Africa labels the figure "Combined Cycle" and does not name the test standard. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.9 L/100kmnoteRead from Toyota SA's compare tool, labelled 'Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' with no named test standard. |
| Fuel tank | 80 L |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel confirmed by fuel system spec; 50ppm low-sulphur grade standard for current SA-market diesel Toyotas. |
| Range | 1 012 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | 209 g/kmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "CO2 (g/km)" = "209". |
| Seats | 7note7-seat configuration standard across the current Fortuner range, consistent with GR-S in this catalogue; not separately re-confirmed on the VX-specific compare page. |
| Doors | 5 |
| Length | 4 795 mm |
| Width | 1 855 mm |
| Height | 1 835 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2 745 mm |
| Ground clearance | 279 mmnote279 mm is Toyota South Africa’s own figure, printed identically for all twelve local derivatives. Sources outside South Africa give roughly 216–219 mm, which looks like a different measurement basis rather than a disagreement about the car. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 716 Lnote716 litres with the third row folded, from two Australian reviews of the same seven-seat body. Toyota South Africa does not publish it. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 200 LnoteNot published for VX by Toyota SA; derived from the GR-S record in this catalogue on the basis of the identical shared body shell and cargo area across current Fortuner grades. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 080 LnoteSee “Boot (behind last row)” -- same shared-body-shell basis. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 735 kg |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 3 300 kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNot applicable, established. Global NCAP (including its Safer Cars for Africa campaign) has not tested this vehicle. Not applicable, established (Toyota gap-fill batch 1). Euro NCAP has not tested this vehicle. Applicability was established before treating the absence as missing data, per the catalogue research policy. ANCAP’s five-star Fortuner rating covers cars built between October 2019 and December 2025 and has itself expired, so it does not describe the car on sale now. |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags — driver, front passenger, curtain, driver’s knee and front side — as listed in Toyota South Africa’s own Fortuner brochure. |
| Airbag positions | Side, Curtain, Driver, Passenger, Driver KneenoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code A8G, field "Airbags" = "Side,Curtain,Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteToyota South Africa covers every new vehicle for three years or 100 000 km, whichever comes first. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSee “Warranty”, including the "unlimited cover" caution. |
| Service plan | 9 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 10 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteManufacturer source states: "Full Alloy". |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Differential lock | RearnotePresence confirmed on Toyota SA's VX spec table ('Differential Lock: With'); location (rear) derived from the GR-S sibling's shared 4x4 configuration. |
| Low range | YesnoteStandard on all current Fortuner 4x4 grades. |
| Approach angle | 29°noteNot published by Toyota South Africa; the Fortuner body is the same across grades, so the GR-S figure applies. |
| Departure angle | 25°noteSee approach_angle_deg. |
| Breakover angle | 23.5°noteSee approach_angle_deg. |
| Wading depth | 700 mmnoteSee approach_angle_deg. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- 0-100 km/h — Recorded for the VX 4x4 only; Toyota South Africa publishes no kerb weight or 0-100 time, and the lower-equipped car is not assumed to match.
- Kerb weight — Recorded for the VX 4x4 only; Toyota South Africa publishes no kerb weight or 0-100 time, and the lower-equipped car is not assumed to match.
- Payload — Recorded for the VX 4x4 only; Toyota South Africa publishes no kerb weight or 0-100 time, and the lower-equipped car is not assumed to match.
Appears in
2 Toyota Fortuners in stock — from R869 990 — view them
Shown for the Toyota Fortuner nameplate. Vehicles for sale may differ in derivative, year and specification from the model described above.













