Kia Carens
Kia South Africa
Mpv

Kia Carens

R359 995 to R599 995List price, as at 2026-09-09, across the range

At a glance

These figures describe the CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Power
84 kW
CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL only
Consumption
7.2 L/100km
CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL only
Boot
216 L
CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL only
Seats
7
across the range
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
3 services / 3 years / 45 000 km
Service plan

Decide

Derivatives in this range

As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.

DerivativeSeatsPriceSpare wheel
CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL
the specifications above describe this derivative
Not stated R359 995 Not stated
CARENS 1.5D LS MAN Not stated R399 995 Not stated
CARENS 1.5D LX AT Not stated R459 995 Not stated
CARENS 1.5D EX AT Not stated R499 995 Not stated
CARENS 1.5D SX AT Not stated R599 995 Not stated

Similar vehicles

Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.

Toyota Rumion
Range · MPV · R314 100 - R411 700
Suzuki Ertiga
Range · MPV · R307 900 - R366 900
Suzuki XL6
Range · MPV · R361 900 - R402 350
Volkswagen Caddy 5
Range · MPV · R578 900 - R729 900

Full specifications

The figures below describe the CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 1.5 L
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Displacement (cc)": 1 497 for the petrol. The diesel column reads 1493.
Cylinders 4
noteRead from the petrol column of Kia's own model comparison, which lists the petrol and diesel Carens in separately labelled columns.
Power 84 kW
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Maximum Power (Kw @ rpm)": 84 kW @ 6,300 rpm in the petrol column.
Torque 144 Nm
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Maximum Torque (Nm/rpm)": 144 Nm @ 4,500 rpm, petrol column.
Transmission 6-Speed MT
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens" gives 6MT for the petrol LS. The four diesel derivatives are 6MT or 6AT.
Gears 6
Drivetrain FWD
noteFront-wheel drive, stated for the 1.5 LS petrol manual in current South African listings and launch coverage.
Consumption cycle Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)
noteKia writes only "Combined" and names no regulatory test cycle anywhere — no NEDC, no WLTP, in any Kia SA document for this model.
Fuel consumption 7.2 L/100km
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens": "7,2L (Combined)" in the petrol column.
Fuel tank 45 L
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Fuel Tank Capacity (l)": 45.
Fuel grade 95 / 93 unleaded
noteEither South African grade. Kia's owner's manual for markets outside Europe asks for unleaded petrol of at least 91 RON, which both 93 and 95 meet.
Range 625 km
noteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down.
0-100 km/h 11.1 s
noteKia publishes "11.1 (est)" for the petrol MT and labels it an estimate itself. The diesel figures, 12,0 and 13,1, carry no such qualifier.
CO2 emissions 162 g/km
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens": 162 g/km for the petrol manual. Kia’s own row reads "162 (MT)/146(CVT)" although the sheet’s transmission row gives 6MT and 6AT for this car and no CVT is offered.
Seats 7
noteKia SA’s Carens page states seven seats in its own headings — "7 Seats For Every Journey" and "Life comes together in seven seats". The specification table has no seat row, so no per-derivative count is published.
Doors 5
noteKia South Africa's own used-vehicle listings state five doors for the Carens; Kia's specification pages give no door count.
Length 4 550 mm
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Overall length x width x height (mm)": "4550 x 1800 x 1734". Kia names the order in the row label.
Width 1 800 mm
noteFrom the same combined row, which Kia labels "Overall length x width x height (mm)" — so 1800 is width on Kia’s own labelling rather than by assumed convention.
Height 1 734 mm
noteFrom the same combined row: 1734.
Wheelbase 2 780 mm
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Wheelbase (mm)": 2780.
Ground clearance 180 mm
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Ground clearance (mm)": 180.
Boot (behind 2nd row) 645 L
note645 litres with the third row folded flat and the second row in place, from a South African road test; an Indian source for the same car gives the same figure and names the same seat configuration. Kia itself publishes no boot volume for the Carens.
Boot (behind last row) 216 L
note216 l behind the third row, carried by two current South African sources. Kia South Africa publishes no luggage figure itself, and the same 216 l is the Indian-market figure for this body; recorded because it describes the same body and two local sources print it.
Boot (seats folded) Not specified
Kerb weight 1 395 kg
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Curb Weight (max kg) MT/AT": "(Petrol = 1395/1429) (Diesel = 1462/1488)". 1395 is the petrol manual, this record’s basis. Kia states it as a maximum.
Gross vehicle mass 1 910 kg
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", row "Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM) (kg) MT/AT": "(Petrol = 1910/1990) (Diesel = 2020/2050)". 1910 is the petrol manual. Kia prints an identical set of figures against a "Gross Combination Weight" row, which cannot be right for both.
Payload 515 kg
noteKia does not publish a payload figure. This is worked out from Kia's own numbers for the petrol manual — a gross vehicle mass of 1 910 kg less a kerb weight of 1 395 kg. Kia does not say whether that kerb weight includes a driver or a full tank, so treat the result as close rather than exact.
Towing (braked) Not specified
Towing (unbraked) Not specified
Safety
Safety rating No crash-test rating for this version
noteGlobal NCAP has not tested this Carens. Its three-star results (2022, and again in 2024) belong to the earlier Carens; the South African car is based on the updated Carens Clavis. Euro NCAP's only Kia Carens result is for a different, discontinued European model that shares the name. The current Carens has not been tested by Euro NCAP. ANCAP's only result under this name is for the same discontinued European model, sold in Australia as the Rondo. The current Carens has not been tested by ANCAP.
Airbags 6
noteSix airbags, standard across the Carens range in South Africa.
Airbag positions Driver, Front Passenger, Front Side, Curtain
noteRead from the petrol LS column of Kia's own model comparison, where all four are shown as fitted, alongside a stated airbag count of six.
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 5 years
noteKia SA Carens brochure, "Standard Specifications: Kia Carens", "WARRANTY & SERVICE ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE" block: "5-year / Unlimited Kilometre".
Warranty distance Unlimited
No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only.
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
Service plan 3 services / 3 years / 45 000 km
How it is supplied Included with the vehicle
Service interval (distance) 15 000 km
note15 000 km or one year, consistent with the 3-year/45 000 km service plan.
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
Service network ~76 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026
In all 9 provinces.
Service-leads flag present on all 76 SA entries in Kia's own locator.
Compare service networks across all brands →
note76 Kia service points, each carrying the service flag in Kia South Africa’s own locator.

What we can't tell you yet

Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.

These gaps are recorded for the CARENS 1.5 MT LS PETROL. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Appears in

Keep researching

Ownership