Mpv
Toyota Rumion
R314 100 to R411 700List price, as at 2026-08-31, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Rumion 1.5 S MT. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
77 kW
Rumion 1.5 S MT only
Consumption
6.2 L/100km
Rumion 1.5 S MT only
Boot
800 L
seats folded
Seats
7
across the range
Towing (braked)
1 000 kg
Rumion 1.5 S MT only
Warranty
3 yr / 100 000 km
Cost to own
This page covers the whole range, so a running-cost figure would have to pick one derivative and imply it speaks for the rest.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Rumion 1.5 S MT. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5 LnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf) gives displacement "1462" cm3; the model page lists the engine as "1.5 (l)". Recorded in litres as 1.5, which is Toyota's own model designation. |
| Cylinders | Not specified |
| Power | 77 kWnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "77 @ 6000" kW. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Torque | 138 NmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "138 @ 4400" Nm. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Transmission | Manual-5-speednoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "Manual-5-speed" for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT. This is the ONLY row on the sheet that differs across the range: the SX AT and TX AT derivatives are "Automatic-4-speed". Ratio count recorded separately in gears. |
| Gears | 5noteNo separate gear-count row is published; 5 is read from the transmission designation "Manual-5-speed" and nowhere else. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "FWD". Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe sheet and the model page both label the figure "Combined Cycle" and the page adds "Estimated". No standard or regulation is named, so it is recorded as unstated rather than resolved to NEDC or WLTP. |
| Fuel consumption | 6.2 L/100kmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "6.2" l/100km. Identical across all five derivatives, manual and automatic alike. |
| Fuel tank | 45 LnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "45" L. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Fuel grade note | Not specified |
| Range | 725 kmnotefuel_tank_l \u00f7 consumption_l100 \u00d7 100, floored. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | 146 g/kmnote146 g/km, agreed across three South African sources including Toyota's own sheet. |
| Seats | 7noteToyota SA states seven seats for the nameplate - the model page is titled "Toyota Rumion | MPV | 7-Seater" and the copy reads "Spacious 7-seat cabin". The specification sheet publishes NO seat row at all, so this is a nameplate-level figure and no per-derivative seat count exists to roll up. seats_min, seats_max and use_case are therefore left underived rather than inferred from it. |
| Doors | Not specified |
| Length | 4 460 mmnoteToyota SA's Rumion specification sheet gives 4460 mm, identical across all five derivatives; Suzuki South Africa publishes 4395 mm for the Ertiga, which is the same vehicle. The 65 mm difference is not reconciled here — each record states what its own manufacturer publishes. |
| Width | 1 735 mmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "1735" mm. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Height | 1 690 mmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "1690" mm. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Wheelbase | 2 740 mmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet, row "Wheelbase (mm)": 2740, identical across all five derivative columns. The abbreviated spec-hanger version of the same sheet has no wheelbase row at all, which is why this record previously held none. |
| Ground clearance | 180 mmnoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "180" mm. Identical across all five derivatives. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | Not specified |
| Boot (behind last row) | Not specified |
| Boot (seats folded) | 800 LnoteToyota South Africa's Rumion specification sheet, 1.5 S MT column. |
| Boot (standard) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 1 155 kgnoteToyota's sheet prints a range of 1 155 to 1 190 kg for the 1.5 S MT; the lower bound is recorded. |
| Kerb weight basis | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 1 720 kgnoteSpecification sheet row "Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM)". Unlike most rows on this sheet it differs by derivative: 1720 kg for the three manual derivatives and 1730 kg for the two automatics. 1720 is the figure for this record’s basis derivative, the 1.5 S MT. |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 1 000 kgnoteToyota's sheet: 1 000 kg braked, 550 kg unbraked, shared across the range. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | Not specified |
| Airbags | 6noteToyota's sheet, 1.5 S MT column, lists driver, passenger, side and curtain airbags. |
| Airbag positions | Side, Curtain, Driver, PassengernoteToyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf): "Side, Curtain, Driver, Passenger". Identical across all five derivatives. No airbag COUNT is published, so airbags_count stays unknown rather than being inferred from the list. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteToyota SA model page, Owner Benefits: "Warranty: 3 years / 100,000km, whichever comes first." The block is derivative-scoped and was read on three derivatives - S MT, SX AT and TX AT - including the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT itself; all three state the same terms. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteToyota SA model page, Owner Benefits: "Warranty: 3 years / 100,000km" - a distance cap, so warranty_km_unlimited is false. |
| Service plan | Not specified |
| Service plan services | 4 servicesnoteToyota SA model page, Owner Benefits: "Service Plans: 4 Services / 60,000km". A service COUNT and a distance; no term in years is published, so service_plan_years stays unknown rather than being converted from the distance. |
| Service plan distance | 60 000 kmnoteToyota SA model page, Owner Benefits: "Service Plans: 4 Services / 60,000km". |
| Service plan optional | Not specified |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 kmnoteSpecification sheet row "Service Interval": "12 months / 15 000km", identical across all five derivatives. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteFrom the same "Service Interval" row. |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteEvery derivative states the same spare wheel. |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands →noteCarried across unchanged from the Toyota brand-level check of 18 Aug 2026 on the existing Toyota records, including its confidence level; not re-sourced. |
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Rumion 1.5 S MT the specifications above describe this derivative |
Not stated | R314 100 | Full-size |
| Rumion 1.5 SX MT | Not stated | R360 900 | Full-size |
| Rumion 1.5 SX AT | Not stated | R380 900 | Full-size |
| Rumion 1.5 TX MT | Not stated | R390 700 | Full-size |
| Rumion 1.5 TX AT | Not stated | R411 700 | Full-size |
What we can't tell you yet
These fields are not confirmed from an official South African source. Rather than guess, we've left them marked as unknown.
These gaps are recorded for the Rumion 1.5 S MT. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Cylinders — No cylinder count row exists on the Toyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf), which is the document for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT, and the model page does not publish one either.
- Fuel grade — No fuel grade row exists on the Toyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf), which is the document for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT, and the model page does not publish one either.
- Fuel grade note
- 0-100 km/h — No 0-100 km/h time row exists on the Toyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf), which is the document for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT, and the model page does not publish one either.
- Doors — No door count row exists on the Toyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf), which is the document for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT, and the model page does not publish one either.
- Boot (behind 2nd row) — The sheet publishes a single figure, "Luggage Capacity 800 L", without naming the seat row it is measured behind or the standard used. On a seven-seater that figure could describe the space behind the third row, behind the second, or with the seats folded, and the three are very different numbers. It is recorded here rather than placed in a field that would assert a measurement point Toyota has not stated.
- Boot (behind last row) — The sheet publishes a single figure, "Luggage Capacity 800 L", without naming the seat row it is measured behind or the standard used. On a seven-seater that figure could describe the space behind the third row, behind the second, or with the seats folded, and the three are very different numbers. It is recorded here rather than placed in a field that would assert a measurement point Toyota has not stated.
- Kerb weight basis
- Payload — No payload row exists on the Toyota SA Rumion specification sheet (Toyota-Rumion-Spec-Hanger.pdf), which is the document for the spec_basis derivative, Rumion 1.5 S MT, and the model page does not publish one either.
- Towing (unbraked) — The specification sheet publishes no towing row. The model page says only "a towing capacity of up to 1 000 kg" - an upper bound in marketing copy, not a braked or unbraked figure, and not attributed to any derivative.
- Global NCAP rating
- Euro NCAP rating
- ANCAP rating
- Service plan — Toyota publishes the plan as "4 Services / 60,000km" - a count and a distance. No term in years is stated anywhere, so this stays unknown rather than being derived from the distance.
- Service plan optional










