BYD Shark 6
At a glance
These figures describe the BYD Shark 6 Premium 1.5T DMO AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| BYD Shark 6 Premium 1.5T DMO AWD the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R989 900 | Full-size |
| BYD Shark 6 Performance 2.0T DMO AWD | 5 | R1 149 900 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the BYD Shark 6 Premium 1.5T DMO AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5 LnotePerformance: 2.0 turbo. |
| Cylinders | 4noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 321 kWnoteSystem output; engine 135 kW, front motor 170 kW, rear 150 kW. Performance 350 kW. |
| Torque | 650 NmnoteSystem; Performance 700 Nm. |
| Transmission | DMO plug-in hybrid drive (no conventional gearbox)noteDerived from published figures. |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTPnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Fuel consumption | 9.6 L/100kmnoteBattery-depleted (SOC<25%) figure, not weighted PHEV figure. |
| Fuel tank | 59 LnotePerformance 60 L per launch report. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteAustralian specification data gives a minimum of 91 RON petrol for this 1.5 turbo plug-in hybrid, so either South African grade (93 or 95) meets it; not yet confirmed from a manufacturer document. |
| Range | 670 kmnoteCombined WLTP; Performance 640 km. |
| 0-100 km/h | 5.7 snotePerformance 5.5 s. |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5noteBYD South Africa. |
| Doors | 4noteDerived from published figures. |
| Length | 5 457 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Width | 1 971 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Height | 1 925 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 3 260 mmnoteSA sheet prints 2,920 mm, which conflicts with global data. |
| Ground clearance | 230 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | N/A |
| Boot (behind last row) | N/A |
| Boot (seats folded) | N/A |
| Kerb weight | 2 710 kgnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3 500 kgnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Payload | 790 kgnoteGVM minus kerb; Performance quoted 725 kg. |
| Towing (braked) | 2 500 kgnotePerformance: 3,500 kg. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kgnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2025) |
| Airbags | 7noteEntry derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Front passenger, Driver side, Front passenger side, Curtain left, Curtain right, Driver far-sidenoteEntry derivative. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteBYD South Africa. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteEntry derivative. |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Sales-and-aftersales flag in BYD's own locator: 22 of 63 SA pins. The other 41 are sales-only and are excluded. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Differential lock | NonenoteNo differential lock. What the car has is a brake-based system that emulates one. |
| Low range | NonoteNo transfer case and no low range — each axle has its own electric motor. |
| Approach angle | 31°note31 degrees. |
| Departure angle | 19.3°note19.3 degrees. |
| Breakover angle | 17°note17 degrees, published as a ramp-over angle. |
| Wading depth | 700 mmnote700 mm maximum. |
| Range (WLTP) | 85 kmnoteWLTP electric range. |
| Electric-only range | 85 kmnoteWLTP; Performance 80 km. |
| Battery (gross) | 29.58 kWhnotePublished figure. |
| Max DC charging | 55 kWnoteCCS2 DC charging up to 55 kW. |
| Max AC charging | 7 kWnoteType 2 AC charging up to 7 kW. |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteReported for the South African Shark 6. |
| Battery warranty distance | 200 000 kmnoteReported for the South African Shark 6. |
| Load box length | 1 500 mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the BYD Shark 6 Premium 1.5T DMO AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Gears — Not published in the sources checked.
- Fuel grade (unverified) — Australian specification data gives a minimum of 91 RON petrol for this 1.5 turbo plug-in hybrid, so either South African grade (93 or 95) meets it; not yet confirmed from a manufacturer document.
- CO2 emissions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Shark 6. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- DC charge 10-80% — Not published in the sources checked.
Appears in
1 BYD Shark 6 in stock — from R959 899 — view them
Shown for the BYD Shark 6 nameplate. Vehicles for sale may differ in derivative, year and specification from the model described above.










