Mpv
Volkswagen Caravelle
From R1Â 794Â 000List price, as at 2026-07-29, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Caravelle Style 1.5 eHybrid 4Motion.
Power
180Â kW
Consumption
8.1Â L/100km
Boot
469Â L
GB-market source
Seats
7
Towing (braked)
1Â 570Â kg
Cover
6 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Caravelle Style 1.5 eHybrid 4Motion the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R1Â 794Â 000 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Mercedes-Benz V-Class
Range · MPV · R2 287 810
Kia Carnival
Range · MPV · R1 049 995 - R1 299 995
Hyundai Staria
Range · MPV · R939 900 - R1 299 900
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Caravelle Style 1.5 eHybrid 4Motion.
| Engine capacity | 1.5Â LnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Capacity (cm3) 1498". |
| Cylinders | 4noteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Cylinders 4". |
| Power | 180Â kWnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Combined System with Electric Motor Output 180 @ 5,500" kW. The petrol engine alone gives 130 kW. |
| Torque | 350Â NmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: combined system torque "350 @ 1,500-4,000" Nm; petrol engine 250 Nm. |
| Transmission | Automatic-6-speed DSGnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "6-speed dual-clutch transmission DSG". |
| Gears | 6noteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: six-speed DSG. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "4XMOTION, permanent four wheel drive". |
| Consumption cycle | WLTP |
| Fuel consumption | 8.1Â L/100kmnoteWLTP, measured with the battery discharged. Volkswagen quotes 7.5 to 8.1 L/100 km across the range; 8.1 is the upper figure. |
| Fuel tank | 45Â LnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Fuel tank (l) 45". |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | Not specified |
| 0-100 km/h | 8.2Â snoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "0-100 km/h (seconds) 8,2". |
| CO2 emissions | 77Â g/kmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "CO2 emissions (g/km) Combined 77g/km". |
| Seats | 7noteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Number of seats 7". |
| Doors | 5noteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: five doors including "Electrically operated sliding doors - left and right". |
| Length | 4Â 973Â mmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Length (mm) 4 973". |
| Width | 1Â 941Â mmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Width (mm) excluding side mirrors 1 941". |
| Height | 1Â 907Â mmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Height (mm) 1 907". |
| Wheelbase | 3Â 124Â mmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Wheelbase (mm) 3 124". |
| Ground clearance | 161Â mmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Ground clearance (mm) 161". |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 1Â 844Â L · GB-market sourcenoteUp to 1 844 litres with the rear seats removed, per Volkswagen UK for the same body. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 469Â L · GB-market sourcenote469 litres with all seven seats in place, per Volkswagen UK for the same short-wheelbase Multivan body; VW South Africa publishes no luggage volume. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 2Â 230Â kgnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Kerb Mass (minimum) without driver and with fuel (kg) 2 230". |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 950Â kgnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Gross Vehicle Mass (GVM) (kg) 2 950". |
| Payload | 650Â kgnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Maximum payload capacity (kg) ~ based on minimum kerb mass 650". |
| Towing (braked) | 1Â 570Â kgnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Towing capacity: braked (kg) 1 570". |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kgnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Towing capacity: unbraked (kg) 750". |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2022) |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Passenger, Side, Curtain, CentrenoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: driver and front passenger, side and curtain airbags in front, curtain airbags for the outer rear seats, and a centre airbag in front. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "3-year / 120,000 km manufacturer warranty". |
| Warranty distance | 120 000 km 40 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: 120 000 km. |
| Maintenance plan | 6 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â kmnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Service intervals 15 000km". |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteVolkswagen South Africa’s brochure lists a full-size alloy spare wheel as standard. |
| Service network | ~129 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service & Parts department modelled per pin in Volkswagen's own locator. Compare service networks across all brands →noteCarried across unchanged from the Volkswagen brand-level check of on the existing Volkswagen records, including its confidence level; not re-sourced. |
| Range (WLTP) | 91Â km · GB-market sourcenote91 km electric range on the WLTP cycle, per Volkswagen for the same Multivan eHybrid 4MOTION; Volkswagen SA's own sheet gives 90 km without naming a cycle. |
| Electric-only range | 91Â km |
| Battery (usable) | 19.7Â kWhnoteVW SA Caravelle specification sheet: "Net battery energy 19.7 kWh". |
| Max DC charging | 50Â kWnoteVW SA launch release: "DC rapid charging stations with up to 50 kW". |
| Max AC charging | 11Â kWnoteVW SA launch release: "up to 11 kW at AC charging points". |
| DC charge 10-80% | 26Â minnoteVW SA launch release: "from 10 to 80 per cent in about 26 minutes". |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Caravelle Style 1.5 eHybrid 4Motion.
- Fuel grade — VW SA does not state a fuel grade for the Caravelle.
- Range
- Boot (seats folded) — VW SA publishes no luggage volume for the Caravelle.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Battery warranty — VW SA does not state a separate battery warranty for the Caravelle.
- Battery warranty distance — VW SA does not state a separate battery warranty for the Caravelle.










