Proton X70
At a glance
These figures describe the X70 Standard 2WD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| X70 Standard 2WD the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R529Â 900 | Not stated |
| X70 Executive 2WD | 5 | R579Â 900 | Not stated |
| X70 Executive AWD | 5 | R629Â 900 | Not stated |
| X70 Premium X 2WD | 5 | R639Â 900 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the X70 Standard 2WD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5Â Lnote1477 cc |
| Cylinders | 3noteProton South Africa. |
| Power | 130Â kWnoteProton South Africa. |
| Torque | 255Â NmnoteProton South Africa. |
| Transmission | 7-speed dual-clutch automaticnoteProton South Africa. |
| Gears | 7noteProton South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteAWD available on Executive AWD |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe manufacturer publishes the consumption figure without naming a test cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.8Â L/100kmnoteClaimed combined figure for the 1.5T (all SA X70 share the 130 kW engine); cycle not stated. |
| Fuel tank | 60Â LnoteProton South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteSame 1.5 turbo three-cylinder family as the X50; engine developer states it was developed for 92 RON fuel. |
| Range | 769Â kmnoteCalculated from the 60-litre tank and the 7.8 L/100 km claim (theoretical). |
| 0-100 km/h | 9.8Â snoteClaimed 0-100 km/h time quoted in South African motoring press; not in manufacturer sources checked. |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5noteProton South Africa. |
| Doors | 5noteProton South Africa. |
| Length | 4Â 519Â mmnoteProton South Africa. |
| Width | 1Â 831Â mmnoteProton South Africa. |
| Height | 1Â 694Â mmnoteProton South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 670Â mmnoteProton South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 515Â LnoteBoot capacity with rear seats up, per South African motoring press (one outlet quotes 512 L). |
| Boot (behind last row) | 515Â LnoteFive-seat car: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 635Â kgnoteHeaviest (Premium X 2WD): 1675 kg |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Proton X70. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Proton X70. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6noteEntry derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Front passenger, Front side x2, Curtain x2noteEntry derivative. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnote5-year warranty, transferable |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5 years / 80 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Not specified |
| Service interval (time) | Not specified |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~7 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In 4 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the X70 Standard 2WD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- 0-100 km/h (unverified) — Claimed 0-100 km/h time quoted in South African motoring press; not in manufacturer sources checked.
- CO2 emissions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Ground clearance — Not published in the sources checked.
- Boot (seats folded) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Boot (standard) (unverified) — Measurement standard for the boot figure not stated.
- Gross vehicle mass (unverified) — No gross vehicle mass is published for this model in any manufacturer material reached. The manufacturer's own pages carry feature and price copy rather than a specification table.
- Payload (unverified) — Cannot be worked out. Payload is the gross vehicle mass less the kerb weight, and no gross vehicle mass is published for this model.
- Towing (braked) (unverified) — No towing rating is published for this model in any manufacturer material reached, and no statement was found either way on whether it is approved to tow.
- Towing (unbraked) (unverified) — No towing rating is published for this model in any manufacturer material reached, and no statement was found either way on whether it is approved to tow.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Proton X70. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Proton X70. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Service plan services — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service interval (distance) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service interval (time) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.










