Mercedes-Benz GLE 300 d 4MATIC
Large Suv

Mercedes-Benz GLE

300 d 4MATIC · W167 facelift
R1 843 965List price, as at 2026-07-01

At a glance

Power
198 kW
Consumption
6.8 L/100km
Boot
630 L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
2 700 kg
IN-market source
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan

Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)

Estimated instalment
R32 230 / month
Estimated fuel
R2 663 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R2 277 969

Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.

Decide

Similar vehicles

Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.

BMW X5
xDrive30d M Sport · SUV · R1 856 000

Full specifications

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 2 L
Cylinders 4
Power 198 kW
noteMercedes-Benz SA's July 2026 price list records 198 kW. South African specification sheets add a 15 kW boost from the 48-volt system for a 213 kW combined figure.
Torque 550 Nm
Transmission 9-speed automatic (9G-TRONIC)
noteConfirmed from South African launch coverage of this derivative.
Gears 9
noteThe nine-speed gearbox above; the ratio count is not a separate fact.
Drivetrain AWD
Consumption cycle Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)
noteChecked in both directions: Mercedes-Benz SA's July 2026 price list carries no consumption column at all, and the two South African specification sheets that publish 6,8 l/100 km name no test cycle. The absence of a stated cycle is a confirmed finding, not an unchecked field; the figure itself stays unverified.
Fuel consumption 6.8 L/100km
note6.8 litres per 100 km, reported in South African launch coverage as the most economical engine in the local GLE range.
Fuel tank 85 L
note85 litres, per Mercedes-Benz's specification for the GLE 300 d 4MATIC and two independent references.
Fuel grade Diesel (50ppm)
Range 1 250 km
noteCalculated from the 85-litre tank and the recorded 6.8 l/100 km.
0-100 km/h 6.9 s
note6.9 seconds, from South African launch coverage and a local road test.
CO2 emissions 173 g/km
Seats 5
Doors 5
Length 4 924 mm · PH-market source
noteFrom a Mercedes brochure for the same 300 d 4MATIC in another market. Body length does not change with the engine.
Width 2 010 mm
note2 010 mm **excluding mirrors** — the source states both figures and the mirrors add roughly another 100 mm. This is the body width.
Height 1 797 mm
noteTwo independent references agree for this generation.
Wheelbase 2 995 mm · PH-market source
noteSame brochure as the length, and the same reasoning.
Ground clearance 200 mm
noteMercedes does not publish a ground clearance for the South African GLE. One foreign specification reference gives 200 mm and another gives a slightly different figure, so this is shown without corroboration.
Boot (behind 2nd row) 630 L
note630 litres with the rear seats up, agreed by two independent references for this derivative.
Boot (behind last row) 630 L
noteThe GLE 300 d is a five-seater, so this is the same measurement as the boot behind the rear seats.
Boot (seats folded) 2 055 L
note2 055 litres with the rear seats folded, agreed by the same two references.
Kerb weight 2 260 kg
noteThe 2 260 kg previously recorded matches none of four other figures for this car, which range from about 2 165 kg to 2 458 kg depending on how and what was weighed. No South African figure is published.
Gross vehicle mass 3 100 kg
noteNo South African gross vehicle mass is published. One foreign specification reference gives 3 100 kg for this derivative; no second source confirms it.
Payload Not specified
Towing (braked) 2 700 kg · IN-market source
noteMercedes-Benz's braked towing rating for the GLE 300 d 4MATIC is 2 700 kg (750 kg unbraked), per its specification in India. The 3 500 kg often quoted applies to the more powerful GLE models.
Towing (unbraked) 750 kg
note750 kg unbraked, given by two independent references for this derivative.
Safety
Safety rating No crash-test rating for this version
noteGlobal NCAP has never assessed a Mercedes-Benz GLE. The programmes that have tested this model are Euro NCAP and ANCAP. The only Euro NCAP test of any GLE was carried out in 2019 on a GLE 350 d AMG Line, a different and more powerful version, and that rating has since lapsed. Nothing current covers this car. ANCAP adopted the same 2019 test of the GLE 350 d AMG Line. It describes a different version and has expired.
Airbags 7
noteSeven, itemised by a crash-test authority for this generation of GLE.
Airbag positions Driver, Front Passenger, Driver Knee, Front Side, Curtain
noteDriver and front passenger airbags, a driver knee airbag, front side airbags and full-length curtains, itemised by a crash-test authority for this generation.
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 2 years
noteTwo years with unlimited distance, stated in South African launch coverage of this derivative.
Warranty distance Unlimited
No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only.
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
Maintenance plan 5 years / 100 000 km
How it is supplied Included with the vehicle
Service interval (distance) Set by the car’s service indicator
Service interval (time) Set by the car’s service indicator
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
Service network ~37 authorised service points, as at 18 September 2026
Provincial spread not measured.
Recounted 18 September 2026 on Mercedes-Benz South Africa’s PASSENGER-CAR dealer locator (dealer-locator-passenger-car, searchProfile 0001_DLp-Passenger-Car), which is the network that serves this vehicle: 39 retailers unfiltered, 37 with the locator’s own “Service” filter applied. The locator renders only the ten nearest results at a time, so individual outlets could not all be inspected and non-South-African outlets could not be excluded one by one; 37 is therefore an upper bound rather than an exact figure. Supersedes the 2 September 2026 count (43 unfiltered, 41 with Service, less one Botswana outlet, giving 40), which was taken on a different locator and copied to this record from mercedes-benz-v-class, a van record on the separate Mercedes-Benz Vans network.
Compare service networks across all brands →
noteThirty-seven authorised passenger-car service points, from Mercedes-Benz South Africa’s own passenger-car locator.
Electrification
Range (WLTP) N/A
Electric-only range N/A
Battery (usable) N/A
Battery (gross) N/A
Max DC charging N/A
Max AC charging N/A
DC charge 10-80% N/A
Battery warranty N/A
Battery warranty distance N/A

What we can't tell you yet

Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.

Appears in