Mercedes-Benz GLA
At a glance
These figures describe the GLA 200 Progressive. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| GLA 200 Progressive the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R913Â 640 | Not stated |
| GLA 200 AMG Line | 5 | R913Â 640 | Not stated |
| GLA 200d Progressive | 5 | R982Â 080 | Not stated |
| GLA 200 Night Edition | 5 | R984Â 140 | Not stated |
| GLA 200d AMG Line | 5 | R1Â 011Â 780 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the GLA 200 Progressive. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.3Â Lnote1,332 cc turbocharged four-cylinder with 48V assistance. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour cylinders. |
| Power | 120Â kWnotePlus up to 10 kW short-term mild-hybrid boost. |
| Torque | 270Â Nmnote270 Nm from 2,000 rpm for the mild-hybrid version; one local listing quotes 250 Nm, the figure for the version without 48V assistance. |
| Transmission | 7-speed dual-clutch (7G-DCT)noteSeven-speed dual-clutch automatic. |
| Gears | 7noteSeven forward ratios. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe local figure's test cycle is not stated. |
| Fuel consumption | 6Â L/100kmnoteLocal listing figure; European testing of the same engine returns 6.5 l/100 km on the WLTP cycle. |
| Fuel tank | 43Â Lnote43-litre tank. |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleadednoteEuropean data for this engine specify 95-octane premium unleaded; no manufacturer document was reachable. |
| Range | 716Â kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 8.9Â snote8.9 seconds to 100 km/h. |
| CO2 emissions | 147Â g/kmnoteEuropean WLTP figure for this engine; no local figure published. |
| Seats | 5noteFive seats. |
| Doors | 5noteFive doors. |
| Length | 4Â 412Â mmnote4,412 mm long. |
| Width | 1Â 834Â mmnote1,834 mm wide (excluding mirrors). |
| Height | 1Â 616Â mmnote1,616 mm tall. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 729Â mmnote2,729 mm wheelbase. |
| Ground clearance | 143Â mmnoteSingle database figure; no manufacturer source reachable. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 425Â Lnote425 litres behind the rear seats. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 425Â LnoteFive-seater: behind the second row is behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 420Â Lnote1,420 litres with the rear seats folded. |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 570Â kgnoteThe held figure stands, and the apparent conflict resolves cleanly: 1 570 kg is the kerb weight measured with a 75 kg driver aboard, while the competing 1 495 kg is the same car weighed without one. The two differ by exactly that driver allowance, so both describe this derivative on different conventions. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 070Â kgnote2,070 kg gross vehicle mass. |
| Payload | 575Â kgnoteWorked out from the gross vehicle mass of 2 070 kg less the kerb weight of 1 495 kg measured without a driver aboard, which leaves 575 kg for occupants and luggage. Both figures come from the same specification, so they are on a single consistent basis. |
| Towing (braked) | 1Â 800Â kgnote1,800 kg braked. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kgnote750 kg unbraked. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP's 5-star 2019 rating has expired. ANCAP's rating expired in December 2025. |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative; a 9-airbag option is listed. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 2 yearsnoteSingle South African publication; the manufacturer's local warranty page could not be read. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Not specified |
| Service interval (time) | Not specified |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~48 authorised service points, as at 21 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | Not specified |
| Battery (gross) | Not specified |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the GLA 200 Progressive. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Consumption cycle (unverified) — The local figure's test cycle is not stated.
- Fuel consumption (unverified) — Local listing figure; European testing of the same engine returns 6.5 l/100 km on the WLTP cycle.
- Fuel grade (unverified) — European data for this engine specify 95-octane premium unleaded; no manufacturer document was reachable.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — European WLTP figure for this engine; no local figure published.
- Ground clearance (unverified) — Single database figure; no manufacturer source reachable.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative; a 9-airbag option is listed.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Warranty (unverified) — Single South African publication; the manufacturer's local warranty page could not be read.
- Warranty distance (unverified) — The warranty has no distance cap - it runs on time alone.
- Warranty distance unlimited (unverified) — No distance cap on this warranty.
- Service plan services — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service interval (distance) — No fixed service interval published for South Africa.
- Service interval (time) — No fixed service interval published for South Africa.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.










