Mpv
GAC M8
From R1 499 900List price, as at 2025-11-17, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the M8 2.0T PHEV Master.
Power
274 kW
Consumption
Not specified
Boot
280 L
Seats
7
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
6 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Service plan
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| M8 2.0T PHEV Master the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R1 499 900 | Repair kit |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Kia Carnival
Range · MPV · R1 049 995 - R1 299 995
Hyundai Staria
Range · MPV · R939 900 - R1 299 900
Mercedes-Benz V-Class
Range · MPV · R2 287 810
Full specifications
The figures below describe the M8 2.0T PHEV Master.
| Engine capacity | 2 Lnote2.0-litre turbo petrol engine. Two South African launch reports (Nov 2025) agree. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour cylinders (2.0-litre turbo). Only one source states the cylinder count; GAC does not. |
| Power | 274 kWnoteGAC SA model page: "274 kW Maximum power" (combined system output). |
| Torque | 630 Nmnote630 Nm combined system torque. GAC SA does not state it; GAC Malaysia gives 630 Nm for the same powertrain and South African launch reports agree. |
| Transmission | DHT · MY-market sourcenoteTwo-speed dedicated hybrid transmission (DHT), per GAC Malaysia for the same powertrain; GAC SA does not state the gearbox. |
| Gears | 2 · MY-market sourcenoteTwo-speed DHT, per GAC Malaysia. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive. GAC South Africa does not state it; a South African launch report and an Australian launch report for the same PHEV both give front-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Not specified |
| Fuel consumption | Not specified |
| Fuel tank | 56 LnoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Fuel Tank Capacity (L) 56". |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 1 032 kmnoteGAC SA model page: "1032 km Comprehensive Range" (fuel plus battery). Not a fuel-only range. |
| 0-100 km/h | 8.8 snote8.8 s. GAC Malaysia gives 8.8 s for the same powertrain and South African launch reports quote GAC with the same figure. |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 7noteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Seating Capacity 7". |
| Doors | 5noteFive doors including two sliding side doors (spec sheet: "Dual-side Electric Sliding Doors"). |
| Length | 5 212 mmnoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Length×Width×Height (mm) 5212*1893*1823". |
| Width | 1 893 mmnoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): 1 893 mm. |
| Height | 1 823 mmnoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): 1 823 mm. |
| Wheelbase | 3 070 mmnoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Wheelbase (mm) 3070". |
| Ground clearance | 143 mm · MY-market sourcenote143 mm. Figure from GAC Malaysia for the same M8 PHEV body and powertrain; not stated by GAC South Africa. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 1 500 LnoteAbout 1 500 litres with the third row folded. Only one source states the seat configuration for this figure; GAC does not publish it. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 280 LnoteAbout 280 litres with all seven seats in use. GAC does not publish a figure; two Australian reviews of the same M8 PHEV agree. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 2 420 kg · MY-market sourcenote2 420 kg. Figure from GAC Malaysia for the same M8 PHEV body and powertrain; not stated by GAC South Africa. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3 000 kg · MY-market sourcenote3 000 kg. Figure from GAC Malaysia for the same M8 PHEV body and powertrain; not stated by GAC South Africa. |
| Payload | 580 kgnote“Gross vehicle mass” − “Kerb weight” (both GAC Malaysia figures). |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteGlobal NCAP has not tested this vehicle. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. Euro NCAP has published no result for the M8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the M8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 7noteGAC SA model page: "7 Airbags". |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Passenger, Side, Curtain, Rear windownoteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Front Row Single-stage Dual SRS Airbags + Side Airbags + Curtain Airbags + Rear Window Airbag". |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteGAC SA warranty page: "5 year / 150,000km engine warranty that comes standard on your GAC vehicle". |
| Warranty distance | 150 000 km 30 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteGAC SA warranty page: 150 000 km. |
| Service plan | 6 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Repair kit Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteGAC SA M8 PHEV specification sheet (linked from the GAC SA model page): "Tire Repair Tools"; no spare wheel is listed. |
| Service network | ~33 authorised service points, as at 21 September 2026 In 8 of the 9 provinces. Dealers listed in GAC Motor South Africa's own dealer locator; the locator does not separate sales from service. Compare service networks across all brands →noteCount of dealers in GAC SA's own dealer locator. |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | 106 kmnoteGAC SA model page: "106 km pure electric range (WLTC standard)". WLTC is the Chinese light-vehicle cycle. |
| Battery (gross) | 25.57 kWh · MY-market sourcenote25.57 kWh. Figure from GAC Malaysia for the same M8 PHEV body and powertrain; not stated by GAC South Africa. |
| Max DC charging | 39 kWnote39 kW DC charging, from one report on the Australian car; GAC South Africa does not publish charging power. |
| Max AC charging | 6.6 kWnote6.6 kW AC charging, from one report on the Australian car; GAC South Africa does not publish charging power. |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnote8 years / 150 000 km on the battery. Two South African launch reports (Nov 2025) agree. |
| Battery warranty distance | 150 000 kmnote150 000 km. Two South African launch reports (Nov 2025) agree. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the M8 2.0T PHEV Master.
- Cylinders (unverified) — Four cylinders (2.0-litre turbo). Only one source states the cylinder count; GAC does not.
- Consumption cycle
- Fuel consumption — GAC SA publishes no fuel consumption for the M8. Figures in circulation are on different bases and are not comparable, so none is shown.
- Fuel grade — GAC SA does not state a fuel grade for the M8.
- CO2 emissions — No CO2 figure is published for the M8.
- Boot (behind 2nd row) (unverified) — About 1 500 litres with the third row folded. Only one source states the seat configuration for this figure; GAC does not publish it.
- Boot (seats folded) — No luggage volume is published for the M8.
- Towing (braked) — No towing capacity is published for the M8.
- Towing (unbraked) — No towing capacity is published for the M8.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the M8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the M8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 15 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Max DC charging (unverified) — 39 kW DC charging, from one report on the Australian car; GAC South Africa does not publish charging power.
- Max AC charging (unverified) — 6.6 kW AC charging, from one report on the Australian car; GAC South Africa does not publish charging power.
- DC charge 10-80% — Charging time is not published.










