Foton Tunland V9
Bakkie

Foton Tunland V9

R725 900 to R799 900List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range

At a glance

These figures describe the Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Power
120 kW
Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT only
Consumption
9 L/100km
Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT only
Load box
1 577 mm
length
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
3 500 kg
Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT only
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 75 000 km
Service plan

Decide

Derivatives in this range

As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.

DerivativeSeatsPriceSpare wheel
Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT
the specifications above describe this derivative
5 R725 900 Full-size
Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab LTD 4x4 AT 5 R799 900 Full-size

Similar vehicles

Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.

GWM P500
Range · Bakkie · R724 900 - R799 900
Kia Tasman
Range · Bakkie · R679 995 - R1 004 999
LDV Terron 9
Range · Bakkie · R779 900 - R849 900
Changan Hunter REEV
Range · Bakkie · R799 900

Full specifications

The figures below describe the Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 2 L
noteFoton South Africa.
Cylinders 4 · Australia-market source
noteFoton Australia figure for the same body and engine.
Power 120 kW
noteFoton South Africa.
Torque 450 Nm
noteFoton South Africa.
Transmission 8-speed automatic (ZF)
noteFoton South Africa.
Gears 8
noteFoton South Africa.
Drivetrain RWD
note4x4 derivative has low-range transfer case and electronic front and rear diff locks
Consumption cycle Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)
noteFoton South Africa.
Fuel consumption 9 L/100km
noteBrand average; cycle not stated
Fuel tank 76 L
noteFoton South Africa.
Fuel grade Diesel (50ppm)
noteDiesel. Foton specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel.
Range 844 km
noteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down.
0-100 km/h Not specified
CO2 emissions Not specified
Seats 5
noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked.
Doors 4
noteFoton South Africa.
Length 5 617 mm
noteFoton South Africa.
Width 2 090 mm
noteV9 model page shows 2000 mm (appears to repeat V7 figure)
Height 1 955 mm
noteFoton South Africa.
Wheelbase 3 355 mm
noteFoton South Africa.
Ground clearance 240 mm
noteFoton South Africa.
Boot (behind 2nd row) N/A
Boot (behind last row) N/A
Boot (seats folded) N/A
Kerb weight 2 210 kg
noteFoton South Africa.
Gross vehicle mass 3 055 kg
noteFoton South Africa.
Payload 845 kg
noteGVM minus kerb weight; 4x4 LTD about 750 kg
Towing (braked) 3 500 kg
noteFoton South Africa.
Towing (unbraked) Not specified
Safety
Safety rating No crash-test rating for this version
noteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Foton Tunland V9. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Foton Tunland V9. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
Airbags 6
noteFront, side and curtain airbags
Airbag positions Driver, Front passenger, Front side x2, Curtain x2
noteEntry derivative.
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 5 years
noteFoton South Africa.
Warranty distance 200 000 km
40 000 km/year · derived
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
noteUnlimited-km cover also mentioned in brand material
Service plan 5 services / 5 years / 75 000 km
How it is supplied Included with the vehicle
Service interval (distance) 15 000 km
noteFoton South Africa.
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
noteSteel rim
Service network ~58 authorised service points, as at 2 September 2026
In all 9 provinces.
Counted from Foton South Africa's own dealer list, which appears identically on the model page and at /dealerships/: 62 unique Foton outlets, less four outside South Africa (Mbabane, Eswatini, Botswana and Novel Namibia), leaving 58. Foton does not mark which outlets service vehicles, so this is a count of its South African dealer network rather than a service-only count.
Compare service networks across all brands →
noteBrand service-outlet count, same figure as the brand's other records.
Off-Road
Differential lock None
noteNo differential lock on this derivative. The LTD four-wheel drive adds electronically controlled front and rear locks.
Low range No
noteTwo-wheel drive, so no transfer case and no low range.
Electrification
Range (WLTP) N/A
Electric-only range N/A
Battery (usable) Not specified
Battery (gross) Not specified
Max DC charging N/A
Max AC charging N/A
DC charge 10-80% N/A
Battery warranty Not specified
Battery warranty distance Not specified
Load Box
Load box length 1 577 mm
noteFoton South Africa.

What we can't tell you yet

Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.

These gaps are recorded for the Tunland V9 2.0TD Double Cab VLX 4x2 AT. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Appears in