BYD Atto 2
At a glance
These figures describe the Atto 2 DM-i Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Atto 2 DM-i Comfort the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R449Â 900 | Not stated |
| Atto 2 DM-i Dynamic | 5 | R489Â 900 | Not stated |
| Atto 2 Dynamic EV | 5 | R529Â 900 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Atto 2 DM-i Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5Â Lnote1.5-litre petrol (non-turbo) plus electric drive |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour-cylinder 1.5 petrol engine in the plug-in hybrid system |
| Power | 122Â kWnoteSystem output |
| Torque | 300Â NmnoteSystem output |
| Transmission | automatic (DM-i hybrid drive)noteSingle-speed hybrid drive unit, no conventional gearbox |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Fuel consumption | 5.1Â L/100kmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Fuel tank | 45Â L |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 930Â kmnoteFull tank plus charged battery |
| 0-100 km/h | 9.1Â s |
| CO2 emissions | 26Â g/kmnoteQuoted with the hybrid battery charged, so not comparable with a petrol car's figure |
| Seats | 5noteFive-seat SUV. |
| Doors | 5 |
| Length | 4Â 330Â mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Width | 1Â 830Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors |
| Height | 1Â 675Â mm |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 620Â mm |
| Ground clearance | 150Â mm |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 425Â LnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 425Â LnoteFive-seater: behind the second row is behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 335Â LnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 510Â kg |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 000Â kg |
| Payload | 490Â kgnotePayload is the difference between the gross vehicle mass and the kerb weight already held for this derivative: 2 000 kg less 1 510 kg. |
| Towing (braked) | 750Â kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kgnoteListed the same as the braked figure, which may be a listing artefact |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 2. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 2. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6 |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnote5 years on the vehicle, 8 on the battery |
| Warranty distance | 150 000 km · unverified 30 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 3 services / 4 years / 60 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20Â 000Â km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | Not specified |
| Electric-only range | 40Â kmnoteAbout 40 km (WLTC per one report, WLTP estimate per another) |
| Battery (usable) | 7.8Â kWhnoteQuoted pack capacity; no separate usable figure published |
| Battery (gross) | 7.85Â kWhnoteBlade LFP battery; gross/usable not stated |
| Max DC charging | Not specified |
| Max AC charging | 3.5Â kW |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Battery warranty distance | 200Â 000Â kmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Atto 2 DM-i Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Cylinders (unverified) — Four-cylinder 1.5 petrol engine in the plug-in hybrid system
- Gears (unverified) — No stepped gears
- Fuel tank (unverified)
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — Quoted with the hybrid battery charged, so not comparable with a petrol car's figure
- Ground clearance (unverified)
- Kerb weight (unverified)
- Gross vehicle mass (unverified)
- Towing (braked) (unverified)
- Towing (unbraked) (unverified) — Listed the same as the braked figure, which may be a listing artefact
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 2. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 2. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Warranty distance (unverified)
- Service plan (unverified)
- Service plan distance (unverified)
- Service interval (distance) (unverified)
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Range (WLTP) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Max DC charging (unverified) — No DC fast charging reported for this derivative
- Max AC charging (unverified)
- DC charge 10-80% — Not published in the sources checked.










