Midsize Suv
Volkswagen Tayron
R811 800 to R899 900List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
110 kW
Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG only
Consumption
7.6 L/100km
Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG only
Boot
345 L
Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG only · other-market source
Seats
5–7
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
6 services / 5 years / 90 000 km
Service plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R811 800 | Not stated |
| Tayron 1.4 TSI Life DSG | 7 | R853 800 | Not stated |
| Tayron 1.4 TSI R-Line DSG | 7 | R899 900 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.4 Lnote1.4-litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol, the only engine at launch. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour cylinders; the EA211 1.4 TSI is a four. |
| Power | 110 kWnoteSame output across all three derivatives. |
| Torque | 250 NmnoteAvailable from 1 500 rpm to 3 500 rpm. |
| Transmission | 7-speed DSG dual-clutchnoteNo manual is offered. |
| Gears | 7noteSeven forward ratios. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive; an all-wheel-drive 2.0 TSI has been flagged for a later introduction. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteReported as an average with no test cycle named. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.6 L/100kmnoteCombined claim for the 1.4 TSI as quoted at its local launch; still resting on a single report. |
| Fuel tank | Not specified |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | Not specified |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | up to 5noteThe entry car is a five-seater; Life and R-Line add a third row for seven. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 4 792 mm · other-market sourcenoteSame body as the South African car; Volkswagen South Africa rounds it to 4,79 m. |
| Width | 1 853 mm · other-market sourcenoteBody width excluding mirrors; R-Line bodywork measures 1 866 mm. |
| Height | 1 668 mm · other-market sourcenoteSeven-seat figure; the five-seat body is quoted at 1 666 mm. |
| Wheelbase | 2 788 mm · other-market sourcenoteQuoted as 2 788 mm for the seven-seater and 2 789 mm for the five-seater. |
| Ground clearance | 181 mm · other-market sourcenoteBody figure for the same Tayron shell. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 885 LnoteFive-seat entry car, rear bench upright. In the seven-seat Life and R-Line the equivalent figure with the third row folded is 850 litres. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 345 L · other-market sourcenoteApplies to the seven-seat Life and R-Line with all three rows in use; the five-seat entry car has no third row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 2 090 LnoteFive-seat car with the rear bench folded; still a single-source figure. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · other-market sourcenoteThe unbraked limit is 750 kg across the Tayron range. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Volkswagen Tayron. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Volkswagen Tayron. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 9noteStated for the Life derivative; Volkswagen South Africa does not publish a count for the entry car. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnoteBacked by a 12-year anti-corrosion warranty. |
| Warranty distance | 120 000 km 40 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteWhichever comes first with the three-year term. |
| Service plan | 6 services / 5 years / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 kmnoteSix services across the 90 000 km plan on that spacing. |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteVolkswagen South Africa’s specification sheet lists a space- and weight-saving spare wheel with tool kit and jack, standard on every derivative. |
| Service network | ~129 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Tayron 1.4 TSI DSG. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Consumption cycle (unverified) — Reported as an average with no test cycle named.
- Fuel consumption (unverified) — Combined claim for the 1.4 TSI as quoted at its local launch; still resting on a single report.
- Fuel tank (unverified) — Tank capacity is not published for the South African derivative.
- Fuel grade (unverified) — No minimum octane is stated for this engine by the manufacturer.
- Range (unverified) — Cannot be worked out while the tank capacity is unpublished.
- 0-100 km/h (unverified) — No acceleration claim is published for the 1.4 TSI.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — No carbon dioxide figure is published for the South African car.
- Boot (seats folded) (unverified) — Five-seat car with the rear bench folded; still a single-source figure.
- Kerb weight (unverified) — No kerb mass is published for the 1.4 TSI.
- Gross vehicle mass (unverified) — No gross vehicle mass is published for this derivative.
- Payload (unverified) — Payload cannot be given while neither kerb mass nor gross vehicle mass is published.
- Towing (braked) (unverified) — A factory tow hitch is offered but no towing rating is published for this engine.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Volkswagen Tayron. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Volkswagen Tayron. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbag positions (unverified) — A count is published for one derivative but the individual airbags are not itemised.










