Large Suv
Volvo XC90
R1 546 300 to R1 936 500List price, as at 2026-09-25, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the XC90 B5 AWD Plus. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
183 kW
XC90 B5 AWD Plus only
Consumption
8.1 L/100km
XC90 B5 AWD Plus only
Boot
301 L
XC90 B5 AWD Plus only
Seats
7
Towing (braked)
2 400 kg
XC90 B5 AWD Plus only
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Service plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| XC90 B5 AWD Plus the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R1 546 300 | Space-saver |
| XC90 B5 AWD Ultra | 7 | R1 648 300 | Space-saver |
| XC90 T8 AWD Plug-in hybrid Plus | 7 | R1 825 300 | Space-saver |
| XC90 T8 AWD Plug-in hybrid Ultra | 7 | R1 936 500 | Space-saver |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the XC90 B5 AWD Plus. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2 L · UK (Volvo)-market sourcenoteVolvo's four-cylinder 2.0-litre turbo petrol with a 48V integrated starter-generator. Volvo South Africa's specifications page omits displacement. |
| Cylinders | 4 · UK (Volvo)-market sourcenoteVolvo UK (Volvo) figure for the same body and engine. |
| Power | 183 kWnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Torque | 350 NmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Transmission | 8-speed Geartronic automaticnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Gears | 8noteVolvo South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteAll-wheel drive on every South African derivative. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTP · ZA-market sourcenoteVolvo South Africa does not label the B5 figure, but labels the plug-in hybrid's electricity consumption 'WLTP' and its electric range on the same basis. |
| Fuel consumption | 8.1 L/100kmnoteCombined. |
| Fuel tank | 71 LnoteSame tank on the plug-in hybrid. |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleadednoteVolvo prefers 98-octane petrol but permits 95 for normal driving, which is the grade to use here. |
| Range | 870 kmnoteCalculated from the 71-litre tank and 8.1 l/100 km combined; not a manufacturer claim. |
| 0-100 km/h | 7.7 snoteTop speed limited to 180 km/h, as on every current Volvo. |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 7noteThree rows, standard on every South African derivative. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 4 953 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Width | 1 931 mmnoteExcluding mirrors; 2,008 mm with mirrors folded and 2,140 mm with mirrors out. |
| Height | 1 771 mmnoteThe plug-in hybrid page gives 1,767 mm at kerb weight with one person aboard. |
| Wheelbase | 2 984 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 212 mm · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured with the car empty; it settles to 205 mm with one person aboard. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 980 LnoteThird row folded, second row upright. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 301 LnoteAll three rows in use. The plug-in hybrid's figure is 244 l because of the battery. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 950 LnoteSecond and third rows folded. The plug-in hybrid manages 1,941 l. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteVolvo quotes European luggage volumes, normally to VDA. |
| Kerb weight | 2 120 kg · UK (Volvo)-market sourcenoteVolvo South Africa publishes gross vehicle weight but not kerb weight; this is the UK figure for the same B5 AWD mild-hybrid body, whose engine is rated 1 kW and 10 Nm higher. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 790 kgnoteThe plug-in hybrid is rated at 2,950 kg. |
| Payload | 775 kgnoteA maximum: the kerb weight it is worked from is Volvo's minimum, so a specced-up car carries less. |
| Towing (braked) | 2 400 kgnoteSame on the plug-in hybrid. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · GB-market sourcenoteThe limit for a trailer with no brakes of its own. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. The five-star result dates from 2015, is far older than six years and no longer describes this car. ANCAP has published no result for the Volvo XC90. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive years of factory warranty, matched by the service plan. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteFive years of factory warranty, matched by the service plan. |
| Service plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteEntry derivative. |
| Service network | ~7 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In 3 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteVolvo Car South Africa outlets, the whole network after the 2025 restructuring; Volvo publishes no separate service-only count. |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | 77 kmnoteT8 plug-in hybrid only. |
| Battery (gross) | 19 kWhnoteNominal, as Volvo states it. Applies to the T8 plug-in hybrid derivatives only, not to the B5 “Derivative these figures describe” car. |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnotePlug-in hybrid derivatives only. |
| Battery warranty distance | 160 000 kmnotePlug-in hybrid derivatives only. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the XC90 B5 AWD Plus. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- CO2 emissions — Not published in the sources checked.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Volvo XC90. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — Plug-in hybrid derivatives only.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — Plug-in hybrid derivatives only.










