Midsize Suv
Volvo XC60
R1 058 400 to R1 500 700List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
183 kW
XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright only
Consumption
7.6 L/100km
XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright only
Boot
468 L
XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright only
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
2 400 kg
XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright only · UK-market source
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R1 058 400 | Not stated |
| XC60 B5 AWD Plus Dark | 5 | R1 116 300 | Not stated |
| XC60 T8 AWD Plus Bright | 5 | R1 460 800 | Not stated |
| XC60 T8 AWD Black Edition | 5 | R1 490 800 | Not stated |
| XC60 T8 AWD Ultra Dark | 5 | R1 500 700 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2 LnoteBoth powertrains use a 2.0-litre turbocharged petrol engine; the B5 adds a 48-volt mild-hybrid system and the T8 a plug-in hybrid system. |
| Cylinders | 4noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 183 kWnoteEntry B5 mild hybrid. The T8 plug-in hybrid makes a combined 340 kW. |
| Torque | 350 NmnoteEntry B5 mild hybrid. The T8 plug-in hybrid makes 709 Nm. |
| Transmission | 8-speed automaticnoteVolvo's eight-speed torque-converter automatic, used across the XC60 range. |
| Gears | 8noteNot published in the sources checked. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteEvery local derivative is all-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTPnoteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.6 L/100kmnoteEntry B5 mild hybrid. The T8 plug-in hybrid claims 1.6 L/100 km, which assumes the battery is kept charged. |
| Fuel tank | 71 LnoteQuoted for the T8 plug-in hybrid; the B5's tank may differ. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 934 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 6.9 snoteEntry B5 mild hybrid. The T8 plug-in hybrid claims 4.8 seconds. |
| CO2 emissions | 170 g/km · UK-market sourcenoteWLTP combined figure for the mild hybrid all-wheel-drive derivative; no local figure is published. |
| Seats | 5noteFive-seat only; no third row is offered. |
| Doors | 5noteVolvo South Africa. |
| Length | 4 708 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Width | 1 902 mmnoteBody width excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1 651 mmnoteCorrects a slightly taller figure that had been carried from a technical database. |
| Wheelbase | 2 865 mmnoteVolvo South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 468 LnoteRear seats upright, for the T8 plug-in hybrid. The B5 may differ slightly. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 468 LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 528 LnoteRear seats folded, loaded to the roof. |
| Kerb weight | 1 900 kg · UK-market sourcenoteKerb weight in running order for the mild hybrid all-wheel-drive derivative. The 2 150 kg figure carried earlier belongs to the plug-in hybrid, which is heavier. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 450 kg · UK-market sourcenoteMaximum laden mass for the mild hybrid all-wheel-drive derivative. |
| Payload | 550 kgnoteDifference between the maximum laden mass and the kerb weight in running order from the same document; because that kerb weight already includes a driver allowance, treat 550 kg as the upper limit. |
| Towing (braked) | 2 400 kg · UK-market sourcenoteBraked trailer limit for the mild hybrid all-wheel-drive derivative; the plug-in hybrid is rated lower at 2 250 kg. Local towing approval should be confirmed with the dealer. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. The XC60's crash rating dates from 2017 and expired at the start of 2024, so no current rating applies to the car on sale. The XC60's crash rating dates from 2017 and has passed the programme's six-year expiry, so no current rating applies. |
| Airbags | 6noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Repair kit Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteSupplied with a temporary mobility kit rather than a spare wheel. The local specification page describes the plug-in hybrid, so confirm it for the mild hybrid at the dealer. |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | 81 kmnoteElectric-only range for the T8 plug-in hybrid on the WLTP combined cycle. The entry B5 has no electric-only range. |
| Battery (gross) | 19 kWhnoteDescribes the T8 plug-in hybrid, not the entry B5 mild hybrid, which has only a small 48-volt system. Volvo quotes 19 kWh as the nominal (gross) size; an international technical database gives 18.8 kWh gross and 14.7 kWh usable. |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteReported locally for the plug-in hybrid's drive battery; the mild hybrid's 48-volt battery may be covered differently. |
| Battery warranty distance | 160 000 kmnoteReported locally for the plug-in hybrid's drive battery. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the XC60 B5 AWD Core Bright. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Consumption cycle (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- Ground clearance — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — The local specification names dual-stage front airbags and full-length inflatable curtains but does not itemise the rest.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Service network — Service-outlet count not readable from the brand's South African locator.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — Reported locally for the plug-in hybrid's drive battery; the mild hybrid's 48-volt battery may be covered differently.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — Reported locally for the plug-in hybrid's drive battery.










