Pictured: RAV4 2.5 HEV VX.
Toyota RAV4
At a glance
These figures describe the RAV4 2.5 HEV GX. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| RAV4 2.5 HEV GX the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R770 500 | Not stated |
| RAV4 2.0 VX | 5 | R799 900 | Not stated |
| RAV4 2.5 HEV VX | 5 | R927 800 | Not stated |
| RAV4 2.5 HEV GR-S | 5 | R941 800 | Not stated |
| RAV4 2.5 PHEV | 5 | R1 043 900 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the RAV4 2.5 HEV GX. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2.5 L |
| Cylinders | 4 |
| Power | 176 kWnoteTotal System Output 176 kW (Toyota SA); petrol engine alone 137 kW. Combined system output used as headline power, per the H6 convention. |
| Torque | 221 NmnoteToyota SA publishes the petrol engine's maximum torque (221 Nm) but no combined hybrid-system torque. Recorded unknown rather than storing the engine-only figure: it would sit on a different basis to the 176 kW combined system output above it, and would read misleadingly low beside turbo-petrol rivals that quote engine torque (~320 Nm). An honest 'Not published' beats a number on the wrong basis. |
| Transmission | CVTnoteToyota SA lists 'CVT' (recorded verbatim; the HEV uses a planetary e-CVT). |
| Gears | N/A |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteDriven Wheels: AWD E-FOUR (electric rear axle). |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteToyota SA labels the figure 'Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' / 'Estimated Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' with no named test standard (no WLTP/NEDC/ADR). Classified sa_combined_unstated (rule 3). Label recorded verbatim; Toyota has disclosed no standard on any SA record to date. |
| Fuel consumption | 4.5 L/100kmnoteToyota SA compare page: 'Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' 4.5 L/100km. |
| Fuel tank | 55 L |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleadednote95 only. Toyota requires unleaded petrol of at least 95 RON for this hybrid, so 93 is not suitable. |
| Range | 1 222 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 7.3 snote7.3 seconds, Toyota’s claimed figure for the 2.5 hybrid, as reported by two South African launch reviews. |
| CO2 emissions | 102 g/km |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5 |
| Length | 4 600 mm |
| Width | 1 855 mm |
| Height | 1 695 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2 690 mm |
| Ground clearance | 201 mm |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 705 LnoteToyota SA 'Luggage Capacity' 705 L for the 2.5 HEV GX. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 705 LnoteToyota SA 'Luggage Capacity' 705 L for the 2.5 HEV GX. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 230 kg |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 1 000 kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNot applicable, established. Global NCAP (including its Safer Cars for Africa campaign) has not tested this vehicle. Euro NCAP’s RAV4 5-star result is the 2019 fifth-generation XA50 car and expired; this record is the sixth-generation XA60 launched in SA in mid-2026, which ANCAP confirms launched unrated. A rating is expected during 2026 — worth a re-check. Not applicable, established (Toyota gap-fill batch 1). Euro NCAP has not tested this vehicle. Applicability was established before treating the absence as missing data, per the catalogue research policy. Euro NCAP’s RAV4 5-star result is the 2019 fifth-generation XA50 car and expired; this record is the sixth-generation XA60 launched in SA in mid-2026, which ANCAP confirms launched unrated. A rating is expected during 2026 — worth a re-check. Not applicable, established. ANCAP has not tested this vehicle. Euro NCAP’s RAV4 5-star result is the 2019 fifth-generation XA50 car and expired; this record is the sixth-generation XA60 launched in SA in mid-2026, which ANCAP confirms launched unrated. A rating is expected during 2026 — worth a re-check. |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags, from Toyota South Africa’s own airbag list for the GX. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Passenger, Driver Knee, Front Side, Rear Curtain, Front CurtainnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code 58D, field "Airbags" = "Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee,Front Side,Rear Curtain,Front Curtain". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 years |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 6 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteFull-size spare, according to South African launch coverage of the current RAV4. |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | N/A |
| Battery (gross) | N/A |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 years |
| Battery warranty distance | 160 000 km |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the RAV4 2.5 HEV GX. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Boot (seats folded) — Toyota does not label a maximum boot figure for this RAV4.
- Kerb weight — Toyota South Africa publishes the 2.5 HEV GX kerb weight as a range, 1 695-1 710 kg, not as one figure.
- Payload — Derivable only as a range: GVM 2 230 kg minus the published kerb range 1 695-1 710 kg gives 520-535 kg for the 2.5 HEV GX.












