Midsize Suv Flagship derivative
Haval H6
1.5T DHT Ultra Luxury 2WD Hybrid
R686 500List price, as at 2026-09-09
At a glance
Power
179 kW
Consumption
5.2 L/100km
Boot
560 L
AU-market source
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
1 500 kg
Cover
5 services / 7 years / 75 000 km
Service plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R11 999 / month
Estimated fuel
R2 037 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R910 785
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Kia Sportage
2WD 1.6T-GDI GT-LINE S · SUV · R823 995
Honda CR-V
1.5T Exclusive CVT · SUV · R1 041 300
Nissan X-Trail
2.5 Acenta Plus 7s Xtronic CVT 4WD · SUV · R770 900
Volkswagen Tiguan
R-Line 2.0 TSI 4Motion DSG · SUV · R852 600
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 1.5 LnoteDisplacement stated directly in the derivative name (1.5T). |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour-cylinder 1.5-litre turbo petrol engine. GWM gives only the capacity. |
| Power | 179 kW |
| Torque | 530 Nm |
| Transmission | DHT |
| Gears | 2noteThe hybrid transmission has two fixed ratios. |
| Drivetrain | FWD |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteGWM H6 HEV brochure states 'Fuel Consumption - Combined litres/100km (Under Tested Conditions)' = 5.2, with no named test standard (no WLTP/NEDC/ADR); recorded as sa_combined_unstated. Figure itself is official. |
| Fuel consumption | 5.2 L/100kmnoteGWM South Africa's combined figure for the H6 HEV, published before the 2025 facelift. GWM Australia gives the same 5.2 l/100 km for the facelifted hybrid. |
| Fuel tank | 61 L · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's figure for the same facelifted H6 Hybrid. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteEither South African grade. GWM recommends 91-octane petrol for this hybrid engine in Australia, which both 93 and 95 meet. |
| Range | 1 173 kmnoteCalculated from the 61-litre tank and the 5.2 l/100 km combined figure. |
| 0-100 km/h | 8.5 snote8.5 seconds is GWM South Africa's claim for the H6 HEV with this 179 kW hybrid powertrain, published before the 2025 facelift. |
| CO2 emissions | 120 g/km · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's combined figure for the same facelifted H6 Hybrid. GWM South Africa quoted 121 g/km before the facelift. |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5noteStandard four side doors plus tailgate for a 5-seat SUV bodystyle. |
| Length | 4 703 mmnoteOverall length of the facelifted H6, per GWM South Africa. |
| Width | 1 886 mmnoteOverall width of the facelifted H6, per GWM South Africa. |
| Height | 1 730 mmnoteOverall height of the facelifted H6, per GWM South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2 738 mmnoteWheelbase of the facelifted H6, per GWM South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 170 mmnoteUnladen figure for the facelifted H6 Hybrid in Australia. South African reports give 170 to 180 mm across the H6 range depending on version. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 560 L · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's luggage figure for the same H6 Hybrid with the rear seats up: 560 litres. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 560 L · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's luggage figure for the same H6 Hybrid with the rear seats up: 560 litres. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 445 L · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's luggage figure for the same H6 Hybrid with the rear seats folded: 1 445 litres. |
| Kerb weight | 1 720 kg · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's kerb weight for the equivalent Ultra Hybrid 2WD. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 140 kg · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's gross vehicle mass for the same H6 Hybrid 2WD. |
| Payload | 420 kgnoteCalculated as gross vehicle mass less kerb weight, both from GWM's figures for the equivalent Ultra Hybrid 2WD. |
| Towing (braked) | 1 500 kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · AU-market sourcenoteGWM Australia's unbraked rating for the same H6 Hybrid. GWM South Africa publishes 1 500 kg without saying braked or unbraked; GWM Australia gives 1 500 kg braked. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteGlobal NCAP has not tested the H6. Euro NCAP has not rated the H6. ANCAP's 5-star rating (2022) covers Australian H6 models, which have a centre airbag between the front seats. The South African H6 Hybrid is not listed with one, so the rating is not applied here. |
| Airbags | 6 |
| Airbag positions | Front Double (Driver+Passenger), Front Side (x2), Side Curtain (x2) |
| Warranty | 7 years |
| Warranty distance | 200 000 km 28 571 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5 services / 7 years / 75 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteService every 12 months or 15 000 km, per GWM South Africa. |
| Spare wheel | Run-flat Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteThe Ultra Luxury Hybrid runs on run-flat tyres and carries no spare wheel, per GWM South Africa. |
| Service network | ~94 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Counted on GWM's own locator - the network serves both GWM- and Haval-badged vehicles. Service hotline present on 94 of 95 SA entries. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | N/A |
| Battery (usable) | Not specified |
| Battery (gross) | Not specified |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | N/A |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 years |
| Battery warranty distance | 150 000 km |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 75 000 km at 15 000 km between services.
- Battery (usable) — GWM does not publish the H6 Hybrid's battery capacity. An international specification reference gives about 1.6 kWh without saying whether that is usable or gross.
- Battery (gross) — GWM does not publish the H6 Hybrid's battery capacity. An international specification reference gives about 1.6 kWh without saying whether that is usable or gross.










