Toyota Land Cruiser Prado 2.8GD TX
At a glance
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, interest at 11.75% (prime 10.75%, South African Reserve Bank from 25 Sep 2026, plus 1%), 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at 50ppm diesel R32.80/L (inland, official prices from 7 Oct 2026). Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 2.8 L |
| Cylinders | 4noteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code 27T, field "Number of Cylinders and Arrangement" = "Inline 4". |
| Power | 150 kW |
| Torque | 500 Nm |
| Transmission | 8-speed automatic |
| Gears | 8 |
| Drivetrain | 4x4noteToyota SA spec table lists Driven Wheels as '4WD/ Part-Time' for all 3 Prado grades, despite marketing copy elsewhere on the page describing a 'full-time All-Wheel Drive (AWD) system'. The spec table is trusted over the prose per this catalogue's live-page precedence rule. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteCycle not stated beyond 'Combined Cycle'; recorded as sa_combined_unstated. The 7.9 L/100km figure itself remains an official manufacturer-published number -- only the cycle label is unconfirmed. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.9 L/100kmnoteRead from Toyota SA's compare tool, labelled 'Avg. Fuel Consumption' / 'Estimated Fuel Consumption (Combined Cycle)' with no named test standard. |
| Fuel tank | 110 L |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel Common Rail confirmed by spec table; 50ppm low-sulphur grade standard for current SA-market diesel Toyotas. |
| Range | 1 392 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 10.9 snote10.9 s, published by Toyota as 0-62 mph. pdf, — United Kingdom. Equivalence: Europe sells this vehicle as Land Cruiser J250, the same 250-series generation as the SA Prado, same 2.8 diesel. GENERATION ESTABLISHED FIRST: this is the Prado 250 series. Toyota SA’s sheet lists exactly TX / VX-R / VX-L, matching the SA "prado-ng-2024" new-generation brochure. |
| CO2 emissions | 209 g/kmnoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code 27T, field "CO2 (g/km)" = "209". |
| Seats | 7 |
| Doors | 5 |
| Length | 4 925 mm |
| Width | 1 980 mm |
| Height | 1 925 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2 850 mm |
| Ground clearance | 205 mm |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 566 LnoteAbout 566 litres behind the second row, the UK figure for the same 2.8 diesel seven-seat Prado. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 130 Lnote130 litres with all three rows in use, Toyota’s UK figure for the same 250-series Land Cruiser. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 2 000 Lnote2 000 L with all rear seats folded — the maximum of the same "130 - 2,000" row. pdf, — United Kingdom. Equivalence: Europe sells this vehicle as Land Cruiser J250, the same 250-series generation as the SA Prado, same 2.8 diesel. GENERATION ESTABLISHED FIRST: this is the Prado 250 series. Toyota SA’s sheet lists exactly TX / VX-R / VX-L, matching the SA "prado-ng-2024" new-generation brochure. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3 050 kg |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 3 500 kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2024) |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags. Worth recording: this set matches the ANCAP-tested vehicle exactly, which is the one case of genuine airbag parity across this batch. |
| Airbag positions | Curtain, Driver, Passenger, Driver Knee, Front Side, Passenger Knee, Front CentrenoteToyota South Africa Motors vehicle-specification data for derivative code 27T, field "Airbags" = "Curtain,Driver,Passenger,Driver Knee,Front Side,Passenger Knee,Front Centre". Toyota’s own itemisation. Airbag COUNT deliberately not inferred from it. |
| Warranty | 3 yearsnote3yr/100,000km warranty (Toyota SA range-standard). Corrected from a mis-citation to the Fortuner spec sheet; re-verified as correct for the Prado. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 33 333 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 9 services / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 10 000 km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteManufacturer source states: "Full 265-65R18 Aluminium". |
| Service network | ~179 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In all 9 provinces. Service-manager contact present per pin in Toyota's own dealer locator. Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Differential lock | RearnoteThe TX has a REAR differential lock. Two independent Toyota SA documents agree: the SA new-generation 2024 brochure separately states VX-R has "Centre and Rear-Torsen LSD" while TX has "Rear" only. Column separation was verified by re-reading per column. |
| Low range | YesnoteStandard on all current Land Cruiser Prado grades. |
| Approach angle | 31° |
| Departure angle | 17° |
| Wading depth | 700 mm · EU-market sourcenote700 mm. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Boot (behind 2nd row) (unverified) — About 566 litres behind the second row, the UK figure for the same 2.8 diesel seven-seat Prado.
- Kerb weight — Toyota South Africa publishes no kerb weight for this derivative, so the figure held here is approximate.
- Payload — Cannot be derived without a single confirmed curb weight figure (see “Kerb weight”).
- Breakover angle — Not published for this version.
Appears in
1 Toyota Land Cruiser Prado in stock — from R1 369 200 — view them
Shown for the Toyota Land Cruiser Prado nameplate. Vehicles for sale may differ in derivative, year and specification from the model described above.















