Tata Osprey
At a glance
These figures describe the Osprey 1.2T Smart+. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Osprey 1.2T Smart+ the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R249Â 900 | Not stated |
| Osprey 1.2T Smart+ DCA | 5 | R279Â 900 | Not stated |
| Osprey 1.2T Creative DCA | 5 | R309Â 900 | Not stated |
| Osprey 1.2T Creative+ PS DCA | 5 | R329Â 900 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Osprey 1.2T Smart+. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.2Â LnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Cylinders | 3noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 88Â kWnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Torque | 170Â NmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Transmission | 5-speed manualnoteDCA derivatives: 7-speed dual-clutch |
| Gears | 5noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe test cycle behind the consumption claim is not stated. |
| Fuel consumption | 6.4Â L/100kmnoteClaimed consumption quoted only by one South African retail source; a second. |
| Fuel tank | 44Â Lnote44-litre tank. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 687Â kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Doors | 5noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Length | 3Â 995Â mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Width | 1Â 804Â mmnoteBody width excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 620Â mmnoteOverall height. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 498Â mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Ground clearance | 208Â mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 382Â LnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 382Â LnoteFive-seater: behind the second row is behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 346Â kgnoteA specification-database figure for the Indian-market equivalent of this car with the same 1.2 turbo-petrol engine. Trim-to-trim variation means the entry-level derivative here may be lighter, so it needs the manufacturer's own figure to confirm. |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Tata Osprey. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Tata Osprey. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6noteEntry derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Warranty distance | 125 000 km 25 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Service plan | 3 services / 3 years / 45 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â kmnoteService interval quoted by a single South African retail source, not confirmed by the manufacturer. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteTwelve-month interval from a single South African retail source. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~45 authorised service points, as at 21 September 2026 Provincial spread not measured. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Osprey 1.2T Smart+. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Consumption cycle (unverified) — The test cycle behind the consumption claim is not stated.
- Fuel consumption (unverified) — Claimed consumption quoted only by one South African retail source; a second.
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- 0-100 km/h — Not published in the sources checked.
- CO2 emissions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Boot (seats folded) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Boot (standard) (unverified) — Measurement standard not stated with the 382-litre figure.
- Kerb weight (unverified) — A specification-database figure for the Indian-market equivalent of this car with the same 1.2 turbo-petrol engine. Trim-to-trim variation means the entry-level derivative here may be lighter, so it needs the manufacturer's own figure to confirm.
- Gross vehicle mass — Not published in the sources checked.
- Payload — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (braked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Tata Osprey. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Tata Osprey. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Service interval quoted by a single South African retail source, not confirmed by the manufacturer.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.










