Midsize Suv
Subaru Forester
R699Â 000 to R830Â 000List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
136Â kW
Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD only
Consumption
7.9Â L/100km
Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD only
Boot
496Â L
Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD only
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
1Â 500Â kg
Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD only
Cover
7 services / 5 years / 105 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R699Â 000 | Not stated |
| Forester 2.5i Touring CVT AWD | 5 | R740Â 000 | Not stated |
| Forester 2.5i Sport CVT AWD | 5 | R790Â 000 | Not stated |
| Forester 2.5i Premium CVT AWD | 5 | R830Â 000 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2.5Â LnoteNaturally aspirated horizontally opposed petrol engine, the only one offered in South Africa. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour cylinders in a horizontally opposed (boxer) layout. |
| Power | 136Â kWnotePeak power at 5 800 rpm; identical on all four derivatives. |
| Torque | 247Â NmnotePeak torque at 3 700 rpm; identical on all four derivatives. |
| Transmission | CVTnoteSubaru's Lineartronic continuously variable transmission. |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | AWDnotePermanent Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive on every derivative. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteSubaru South Africa publishes a combined figure without naming the test cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.9Â L/100kmnoteCombined figure. |
| Fuel tank | 63Â Lnote63-litre tank. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 797Â kmnoteCalculated from the 63-litre tank and the 7.9 L/100 km combined claim; not a manufacturer figure. |
| 0-100 km/h | 9.7Â snoteManufacturer claim. |
| CO2 emissions | 180Â g/kmnoteCombined. |
| Seats | 5noteFive-seat only; no seven-seat option. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 4Â 655Â mmnoteOverall length. |
| Width | 1Â 830Â mmnoteBody width excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 730Â mmnoteRoof height including roof rails. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 670Â mmnoteWheelbase. |
| Ground clearance | 220Â mmnoteUnladen. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 496Â LnoteRear seats upright. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 496Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 174Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Kerb weight | 1Â 595Â kgnoteEntry Field derivative; the range runs up to about 1 645 kg for the Premium. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 223Â kgnoteGross vehicle mass. |
| Payload | 628Â kgnoteAbout 628 kg of payload, worked out from the quoted kerb mass and gross vehicle mass. |
| Towing (braked) | 1Â 500Â kgnoteBraked trailer. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (ANCAP 2024) |
| Airbags | 9noteNine airbags, including a driver's knee bag, a far-side bag between the front occupants and a front passenger seat-cushion bag. |
| Airbag positions | Driver front, Front passenger front, Driver front side, Front passenger front side, Driver curtain, Front passenger curtain, Driver knee, Front centre (far side), Front passenger seat cushionnoteAs itemised by the manufacturer for the South African car. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive years or 150 000 km, whichever comes first, with Subaru Assist roadside support. |
| Warranty distance | 150 000 km 30 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →note150 000 km. |
| Maintenance plan | 7 services / 5 years / 105 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â kmnoteEvery 15 000 km. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~15 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In 7 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Forester 2.5i Field CVT AWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.










