Mitsubishi Triton
At a glance
These figures describe the Triton 2.4 DI-D GL 4x4 MT Double Cab. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D GL 4x4 MT Double Cab the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R639 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D GLS 4x2 AT Double Cab | 5 | R679 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D GLS 4x4 MT Double Cab | 5 | R739 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D GLS 4x4 AT Double Cab | 5 | R759 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D Xtreme 4x2 AT Double Cab | 5 | R769 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D Athlete 4x2 AT Double Cab | 5 | R779 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D Xtreme 4x4 AT Double Cab | 5 | R849 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D Athlete 4x4 AT Double Cab | 5 | R859 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 DI-D Edition 46 4x4 AT Double Cab | 5 | R889 990 | Not stated |
| Triton 2.4 Bi-Turbo 4x4 AT Double Cab | 5 | R959 990 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Triton 2.4 DI-D GL 4x4 MT Double Cab. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2.4 LnoteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Cylinders | 4noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 81 kWnoteGL only; GLS/Xtreme/Athlete/Edition 46 135 kW; Bi-Turbo 150 kW. |
| Torque | 200 NmnoteOthers 430 Nm; Bi-Turbo 470 Nm. |
| Transmission | 5-speed manualnoteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Gears | 5noteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | 4x4noteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Fuel consumption | 8.9 L/100kmnoteAverage; manufacturer SA figure not found. |
| Fuel tank | 75 LnoteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel. Mitsubishi specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel. |
| Range | 842 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | 233 g/kmnoteCO2 233 g/km per South African motoring press spec database; the Mitsubishi South Africa spec sheet does not list CO2 for the GL. |
| Seats | 5noteTwo-row double cab; seat count not printed. |
| Doors | 4noteDouble cab. |
| Length | 5 320 mmnoteBi-Turbo 5,360. |
| Width | 1 865 mmnoteBi-Turbo 1,930. |
| Height | 1 775 mmnoteGLS 1,795; Bi-Turbo 1,815. |
| Wheelbase | 3 130 mmnoteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 221 mmnoteGLS/Bi-Turbo 228. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | N/A |
| Boot (behind last row) | N/A |
| Boot (seats folded) | N/A |
| Kerb weight | 1 865 kgnoteSame figure as GLS 4x2 AT on the sheet; GLS 4x4 1,965; Bi-Turbo 2,035. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 755 kgnoteGLS 4x4 3,000; Bi-Turbo 3,020. |
| Payload | 890 kgnoteGVM minus kerb. |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Mitsubishi Triton. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP rated the Triton 5 stars in 2024 on Australian cars with eight airbags and AEB; the South African entry GL has three airbags and no stability control or AEB. |
| Airbags | 3noteGLS and up: 7 airbags. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Front passenger, Driver kneenoteEntry derivative. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteUnlimited km. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5 services / 5 years / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 10 000 kmnoteThe Mitsubishi SA web page says 15,000 km / 1 year; spec sheet and press say 10,000 km. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteMitsubishi South Africa. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~52 authorised service points, as at 21 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. South African dealer pins in Mitsubishi Motors SA's own dealer locator (Botswana, Eswatini and Namibia entries excluded); the locator does not separate sales from service. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Differential lock | NonenoteNo differential lock on this derivative. The GLS four-wheel-drive derivatives add a rear differential lock. |
| Low range | YesnoteEasy Select four-wheel drive, a part-time system with high and low range. |
| Approach angle | 30.4°note30.4 degrees. |
| Departure angle | 22.8°note22.8 degrees. |
| Breakover angle | 23.4°note23.4 degrees. |
| Load box length | 1 555 mmnoteCargo bed floor length 1,555 mm, the same bed on every Next-Gen Triton double cab. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Triton 2.4 DI-D GL 4x4 MT Double Cab. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- 0-100 km/h — Not published in the sources checked.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — CO2 233 g/km per South African motoring press spec database; the Mitsubishi South Africa spec sheet does not list CO2 for the GL.
- Towing (braked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Mitsubishi Triton. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Spare wheel — Not published in sources checked.
- Wading depth — Not published for this version.










