Mazda CX-5
At a glance
These figures describe the CX-5 2.5 Active Edition Auto FWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| CX-5 2.5 Active Edition Auto FWD the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R578Â 250 | Not stated |
| CX-5 2.5 Dynamic Edition Auto FWD | 5 | R636Â 000 | Not stated |
| CX-5 2.5 Individual Edition Auto AWD | 5 | R717Â 000 | Not stated |
| CX-5 2.5 Homura Edition Auto AWD | 5 | R749Â 100 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the CX-5 2.5 Active Edition Auto FWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2.5Â LnoteNaturally aspirated Skyactiv-G petrol, same engine across the SA range. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour-cylinder naturally aspirated petrol. |
| Power | 132Â kWnoteSame output on every SA derivative. |
| Torque | 240Â NmnoteSame output on every SA derivative. |
| Transmission | automaticnoteTorque-converter automatic, standard on all derivatives. |
| Gears | 6 · other-market sourcenoteSix-speed automatic. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteEntry Active and Dynamic are front-wheel drive; Individual and Homura are all-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteMazda South Africa publishes a combined figure without naming the test cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.6Â L/100kmnoteCombined figure quoted for the front-wheel-drive derivative; the all-wheel-drive cars are quoted at 7.7 L/100 km. |
| Fuel tank | 58Â LnoteSame generation and engine, but still a single-source figure with no manufacturer confirmation. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteRegular 91-93 octane is enough: the engine is rated at the output the manufacturer quotes on 91 octane, with premium only lifting it slightly. |
| Range | 763Â kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5 · other-market sourcenoteFive-seat only; no seven-seat option in this nameplate. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 4Â 690Â mm · other-market sourcenoteSame third-generation body as the South African car. |
| Width | 1Â 860Â mm · other-market sourcenoteBody width excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 695Â mm · other-market sourcenoteRoof height without roof rails. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 815Â mmnoteThe new generation puts its extra 115 mm of length entirely into the wheelbase. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 466Â LnoteRear seats upright. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 466Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 594Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteFigures quoted to the VDA standard. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 1Â 800Â kg · other-market sourcenoteSame generation and engine; South African towing ratings are not published. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kgnoteAnother market's rating for the same generation; still a single source. |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (Euro NCAP 2025) |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year, unlimited-kilometre warranty. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5Â years |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteMazda South Africa gives the service interval as 15 000 km or 12 months, whichever comes first. |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteMazda’s South African brochure gives the spare as 155/80 R17, far narrower than every fitted tyre — a narrow temporary spare rather than a full-size one. |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the CX-5 2.5 Active Edition Auto FWD. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Fuel tank (unverified) — Same generation and engine, but still a single-source figure with no manufacturer confirmation.
- 0-100 km/h (unverified) — No acceleration claim is published for this car.
- CO2 emissions (unverified) — No local emissions figure is published, and the figure that exists elsewhere describes an all-wheel-drive car on a different test cycle.
- Ground clearance (unverified) — Published only as a range that varies by grade, so no single figure describes this derivative.
- Kerb weight (unverified) — No kerb mass is published for the front-wheel-drive car sold locally.
- Gross vehicle mass (unverified) — No gross vehicle mass is published for this car.
- Payload (unverified) — Payload cannot be given while neither kerb nor gross mass is published.
- Towing (unbraked) (unverified) — Another market's rating for the same generation; still a single source.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Mazda CX-5. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions (unverified) — No itemised airbag list is published for the local car.
- Service plan services (unverified) — The number of covered services is not published, and the plan's unlimited distance leaves nothing to work a count from.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Service network (unverified) — A count of local service outlets could not be established from the brand's own locator.










