Large Suv
Lexus RX 450h+
R1Â 717Â 400List price, as at 2026-10-09
At a glance
Power
227Â kW
Consumption
1.3Â L/100km
Boot
612Â L
behind the second row
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
2Â 000Â kg
Cover
7 years / 105 000 km
Maintenance plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R30Â 017 / month
Estimated fuel
R509 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R2Â 003Â 333
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 2.5Â L |
| Cylinders | 4 |
| Power | 227 kWnoteTotal system output. Lexus SA’s RX model page banner says 164 kW, which is a website error. |
| Torque | N/A |
| Transmission | e-CVT hybrid transaxle (Lexus SA labels it CVT)noteAn e-CVT hybrid transaxle with no stepped ratios. Lexus SA prints "CVT" in the table and "E-CVT TRANSMISSION" on the model page; Lexus UK calls it a hybrid transaxle. |
| Gears | N/A |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteE-Four: an electrically driven rear axle with no propshaft. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteLexus South Africa names no homologation standard for this figure. Its row label is "Combined Cycle" and neither WLTP nor NEDC appears anywhere on lexus.co.za for this derivative. Lexus Europe quotes the same car at 1.1 to 1.2 L/100 km weighted combined WLTP, which is a different basis and is not recorded here. |
| Fuel consumption | 1.3Â L/100km (weighted, charged battery)noteThe weighted combined plug-in hybrid figure, which assumes a charged battery, not a petrol-only number. Lexus SA does not use the word "weighted"; SA launch coverage rendered the same figure as conditional on the hybrid battery being charged. |
| Fuel tank | 55Â L |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| 0-100 km/h | 6.5Â s |
| CO2 emissions | 29Â g/kmnoteLexus Europe quotes 24 to 26 g/km WLTP for the same derivative; the SA figure is the one that applies to the car on sale here. |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5noteNot published by Lexus SA; the standard five-door RX body. |
| Length | 4Â 890Â mm |
| Width | 1Â 920Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors, per the matching Lexus UK sheet. |
| Height | 1Â 695Â mm |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 850Â mm |
| Ground clearance | 182Â mm |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 612Â LnoteRear seats up. The matching Lexus UK sheet identifies this as the to-the-roof figure and gives 461 litres to the tonneau cover, which Lexus SA does not publish. |
| Boot (behind last row) | Not specified |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Boot (standard) | VDA · GB-market sourcenoteLexus South Africa names no standard for its 612-litre figure. Lexus UK’s technical data for the same generation identifies 612 litres as a VDA measurement, rear seats up, loaded to the roof, and also gives 461 litres VDA loaded to the tonneau cover. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 780Â kgnoteGross combination mass is given separately as 4 780 kg. |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 2Â 000Â kg |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kg |
| Safety rating | Not specified |
| Airbags | Not specified |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 7 years |
| Warranty distance | 105 000 km 15 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 7 years / 105 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â km |
| Service interval (time) | 12 months |
| Spare wheel | Space-saver Lexus South Africa’s own specification table for this derivative lists a space saver. One SA launch report instead described a tyre-repair kit; the manufacturer table is recorded. Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteContested by one SA launch report, which described a tyre-repair kit instead. The manufacturer table is recorded. The car runs 235/50 R21 tyres. |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | N/A |
| Electric-only range | 65Â kmnoteLexus South Africa names no test cycle for this figure. SA launch material carried 66.5 km; Lexus Europe quotes 67 to 69 km WLTP combined for the same car, which is not recorded here. |
| Battery (gross) | 18.1Â kWhnoteLexus publishes one unqualified battery figure in every market checked, with no gross, net or usable label; recorded here as the gross figure. The specification table itself gives only "HV Battery Type: Lithium Ion" with no kWh row. |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | 6.6 kW · GB-market sourcenoteLexus South Africa publishes no charging power at all. The 6.6 kW on-board charger is Lexus UK’s and Lexus Europe’s figure for the same car. |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 8 years |
| Battery warranty distance | 195Â 000Â km |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Fuel grade — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Boot (behind last row) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Boot (seats folded) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Kerb weight — Lexus South Africa publishes a kerb-weight range of 2 105 to 2 200 kg rather than a single figure, so no single value is recorded. Lexus UK gives 2 110 to 2 240 kg for its own trim spread.
- Payload — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Global NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Euro NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- ANCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbags — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbag positions — Not verified for this derivative; the RX range record’s airbag list was taken from the petrol-hybrid specification.
- Service plan services — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Service network — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.










