Large Suv
Land Rover Discovery
R1Â 824Â 700 to R2Â 363Â 000List price, as at 2026-09-23, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Discovery S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
257Â kW
Discovery S only
Consumption
8.1Â L/100km
Discovery S only · GB-market source
Boot
172Â L
Discovery S only · GB-market source
Seats
7
Towing (braked)
3Â 500Â kg
Discovery S only · GB-market source
Cover
3 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Discovery S the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R1Â 824Â 700 | Not stated |
| Discovery Landmark | 7 | R2Â 136Â 800 | Not stated |
| Discovery Tempest Edition | 7 | R2Â 363Â 000 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Discovery S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 3Â LnoteThree-litre straight-six diesel with mild-hybrid assistance; exact swept volume is 2997 cc. |
| Cylinders | 6 · GB-market sourcenoteStraight-six diesel engine. |
| Power | 257Â kWnoteThe D350 diesel is the engine the Discovery S ships with in South Africa. |
| Torque | 700Â Nm · GB-market sourcenotePeak torque of the D350 diesel. |
| Transmission | automatic · GB-market sourcenoteTorque-converter automatic. |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | 4x4notePermanent four-wheel drive. Unibody construction, not a ladder frame. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTP · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured on the WLTP cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 8.1Â L/100km · GB-market sourcenoteManufacturer quotes 8.1 to 8.5 depending on wheels and options; the lower figure is used. |
| Fuel tank | 89Â L · GB-market sourcenoteUseable capacity. |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel. Land Rover specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel. |
| Range | 1Â 099Â kmnoteCalculated from the tank size and the best quoted consumption figure, so it is a best-case laboratory number rather than a manufacturer claim. |
| 0-100 km/h | 6.3Â s · GB-market sourcenoteZero to 100 km/h. |
| CO2 emissions | 212Â g/km · GB-market sourcenoteManufacturer quotes 212 to 223 depending on wheels and options; the lower figure is used. |
| Seats | 7noteSeven seats across three rows. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door body. |
| Length | 4Â 956Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteOverall length. |
| Width | 2Â 073Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured with the mirrors folded; with mirrors extended it is 2220 mm. A width excluding mirrors is not published. |
| Height | 1Â 888Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteMaximum overall height. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 923Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteWheelbase. |
| Ground clearance | 285Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteAir suspension raised to its off-road setting; at normal ride height it sits at 207 mm. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 922Â L · GB-market sourcenoteThird row folded, block-measured. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 172Â L · GB-market sourcenoteBehind the third row with all seven seats in use, block-measured. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 997Â L · GB-market sourcenoteSecond and third rows folded, block-measured. |
| Boot (standard) | VDA · GB-market sourcenoteBoot figures quoted are the block-measured VDA values. |
| Kerb weight | 2Â 442Â kg · GB-market sourcenoteSeven-seat body on the EU basis, which includes a 75 kg driver, full fluids and 90 percent fuel; without the driver the figure is 2367 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3Â 245Â kg · GB-market sourcenoteGross vehicle weight for the seven-seat body. |
| Payload | 803Â kgnoteGross vehicle weight less kerb weight. Because the kerb figure already counts a 75 kg driver, this is the load available on top of the driver. |
| Towing (braked) | 3Â 500Â kg · GB-market sourcenoteBraked trailer. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kg · GB-market sourcenoteTrailer without its own brakes. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Discovery. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Discovery. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year/100 000 km warranty applies to the advertised South African price. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteFive-year/100 000 km warranty applies to the advertised South African price. |
| Maintenance plan | 3 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 26Â 000Â kmnoteWhichever falls first, distance or time. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteWhichever falls first, distance or time. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~25 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In 8 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteLand Rover retailers in South Africa, from the brand’s own retailer directory; eight of the nine provinces are covered, with none in the Northern Cape. |
| Differential lock | NonoteNo locking rear differential on this derivative; an active locking rear differential is offered as an extra. |
| Low range | NonoteThis derivative has a single-speed transfer case, so there is no low range; a two-speed transfer case is an extra-cost option. |
| Approach angle | 33.6° · GB-market sourcenoteAt off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 26.0 degrees. |
| Departure angle | 30° · GB-market sourcenoteAt off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 24.8 degrees. |
| Breakover angle | 27.5° · GB-market sourcenoteRamp breakover angle at off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 21.2 degrees. |
| Wading depth | 900Â mm · GB-market sourcenoteMaximum wading depth on air suspension. The manufacturer separately quotes 750 mm for a steeper entry and exit. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Discovery S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Gears — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Discovery. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Discovery. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.










