Land Rover Defender 130
At a glance
These figures describe the Defender 130 S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Defender 130 S the specifications above describe this derivative |
8 | R1 925 500 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 X-Dynamic SE | 8 | R2 088 700 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 Outbound | 5 | R2 164 600 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 X-Dynamic HSE | 8 | R2 186 500 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 X | 8 | R2 461 300 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 Vertex | 8 | R2 461 300 | Not stated |
| Defender 130 V8 | 8 | R2 628 300 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Defender 130 S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 3 LnoteThree-litre straight-six diesel with mild-hybrid assistance; exact swept volume is 2997 cc. |
| Cylinders | 6 · GB-market sourcenoteStraight-six diesel engine. |
| Power | 257 kWnoteThe D350 diesel is the engine the 130 S ships with in South Africa. |
| Torque | 700 Nm · GB-market sourcenotePeak torque of the D350 diesel. |
| Transmission | automaticnoteEight-speed torque-converter automatic. |
| Gears | 8noteEight forward ratios. |
| Drivetrain | 4x4notePermanent four-wheel drive. The body is an aluminium monocoque, not a ladder frame. |
| Consumption cycle | WLTP · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured on the WLTP cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 8.7 L/100km · GB-market sourcenoteManufacturer quotes 8.7 to 9.3 depending on wheels and options; the lower figure is used. |
| Fuel tank | 89 L · GB-market sourcenoteUseable capacity. |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel. Land Rover specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel. |
| Range | 1 023 kmnoteCalculated from the tank size and the best quoted consumption figure, so it is a best-case laboratory number rather than a manufacturer claim. |
| 0-100 km/h | 6.8 s · GB-market sourcenoteZero to 100 km/h. |
| CO2 emissions | 227 g/km · GB-market sourcenoteManufacturer quotes 227 to 244 depending on wheels and options; the lower figure is used. |
| Seats | up to 8noteThe long 130 body seats eight across three rows. The Outbound derivative inside the same table is a five-seat, load-focused version. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door station wagon body. |
| Length | 5 358 mm · GB-market sourcenoteIncluding the tailgate-mounted spare wheel; without the spare the body is 5099 mm long. |
| Width | 2 008 mm · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured with the mirrors folded; with mirrors extended it is 2105 mm. A width excluding mirrors is not published. |
| Height | 1 970 mm · GB-market sourcenoteMeasured to the top of the roof aerial. |
| Wheelbase | 3 022 mm · GB-market sourcenoteSame wheelbase as the 110; the extra length is all rear overhang. |
| Ground clearance | 293 mm · GB-market sourcenoteAir suspension raised to its off-road setting; at normal ride height it sits at about 219 mm. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 1 015 L · GB-market sourcenoteEight-seat body with the third row folded, block-measured; a liquid-fill measurement gives 1232 litres. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 290 L · GB-market sourcenoteBehind the third row with all eight seats in use, block-measured; a liquid-fill measurement gives 389 litres. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 876 L · GB-market sourcenoteSecond and third rows folded, block-measured; a liquid-fill measurement gives 2291 litres. |
| Boot (standard) | VDA · GB-market sourcenoteBoot figures quoted are the block-measured VDA values. |
| Kerb weight | 2 627 kg · GB-market sourcenoteEU basis, which includes a 75 kg driver, full fluids and 90 percent fuel; without the driver the figure is 2552 kg. Heavier specifications reach 2696 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3 380 kg · GB-market sourcenoteGross vehicle weight. |
| Payload | 750 kg · GB-market sourcenotePublished by the manufacturer rather than calculated; it varies with specification and seating, and is quoted as low as 650 kg on heavier versions. |
| Towing (braked) | 3 000 kg · GB-market sourcenoteThe long-bodied 130 is rated 500 kg below the 110, which tows 3500 kg. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · GB-market sourcenoteTrailer without its own brakes. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Defender 130. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Defender 130. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year/100 000 km warranty applies to the advertised South African price. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteFive-year/100 000 km warranty applies to the advertised South African price. |
| Maintenance plan | 3 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 26 000 kmnoteWhichever falls first, distance or time. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteWhichever falls first, distance or time. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~25 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In 8 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteLand Rover retailers in South Africa, from the brand’s own retailer directory; eight of the nine provinces are covered, with none in the Northern Cape. |
| Differential lock | NonoteNo locking rear differential on this derivative; an active locking rear differential is offered further up the range. |
| Low range | YesnoteTwo-speed transfer case with a low range, fitted as standard. |
| Approach angle | 37.6° · GB-market sourcenoteAt off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 30.1 degrees. |
| Departure angle | 28.8° · GB-market sourcenoteAt off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 24.5 degrees. The long rear overhang costs it around nine degrees against the 110. |
| Breakover angle | 27.9° · GB-market sourcenoteRamp breakover angle at off-road ride height; at normal ride height it is 22.0 degrees. |
| Wading depth | 900 mm · GB-market sourcenoteMaximum wading depth. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Defender 130 S. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Defender 130. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the Land Rover Defender 130. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
Appears in
1 Land Rover Defender 130 in stock — from R2 300 000 — view them
Shown for the Land Rover Defender 130 nameplate. Vehicles for sale may differ in derivative, year and specification from the model described above.










