Pictured: Jaecoo J7. Jaecoo South Africa publishes this photograph on its J7 SHS page, in a set it does not share with the petrol J7 page, but no frame in that set carries an SHS badge or shows the charge port, which sits on the driver’s side rear.
Compact Suv Flagship derivative
Jaecoo J7 SHS
R689Â 900List price, as at 2026-10-09
At a glance
Power
255Â kW
Consumption
1Â L/100km
Boot
1265Â L
seats folded
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5 years / 75 000 km
Service plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R12Â 058 / month
Estimated fuel
R392 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R815Â 990
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 1.5Â LnoteJaecoo SA names the derivative only as "SHS"; the 1.5-litre capacity comes from the retail naming used by SA pricing sites. |
| Cylinders | Not specified |
| Power | 255Â kWnoteCombined system output. |
| Torque | 525Â NmnoteCombined system torque. |
| Transmission | Dedicated Hybrid Transmission (DHT) |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteJaecoo SA’s own SHS page contradicts itself: the specification table says 2WD while the body copy says all-wheel drive. The specification table is recorded. |
| Consumption cycle | NEDCnoteNEDC is named by Jaecoo SA in the consumption row itself. |
| Fuel consumption | 1.0Â L/100km (weighted, charged battery)noteThe weighted combined plug-in hybrid figure, which assumes a charged battery, not a petrol-only number. An SA road test returned 6.6 L/100 km running as a hybrid once the battery was depleted. |
| Fuel tank | Not specified |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | Not specified |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5noteNot published for the SHS; the same five-door body as the petrol J7 derivatives. |
| Length | 4Â 500Â mm |
| Width | 1Â 865Â mm |
| Height | 1Â 670Â mm |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 672Â mm |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | Not specified |
| Boot (behind last row) | Not specified |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 265Â LnoteMaximum luggage volume with the rear seats folded. Jaecoo SA publishes no seats-up figure and names no loading standard. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 210Â kgnoteJaecoo SA publishes gross vehicle mass but no kerb weight for this derivative. |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | Not specified |
| Airbags | Not specified |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 7 years |
| Warranty distance | 200 000 km 28 571 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5 years / 75 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Not specified |
| Service interval (time) | Not specified |
| Spare wheel | None Jaecoo South Africa publishes no spare-wheel row for the SHS on its spec sheet, brochure or model page, where the petrol J7 sheet does carry one. An SA road test of the car reports no spare wheel is fitted. Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteNo spare wheel is fitted. Jaecoo SA publishes no spare-wheel row for the SHS on any of its three surfaces, while the petrol J7 spec sheet does carry one; an SA road test of the car confirms the omission. |
| Service network | ~51 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteCarried from the J7 range record; dealer network is not derivative-specific. |
| Range (WLTP) | Not specified |
| Electric-only range | 90Â kmnoteJaecoo SA names no test cycle for the electric range, so it is not recorded as a WLTP figure. |
| Battery (gross) | 18.3Â kWhnoteJaecoo SA publishes one unlabelled battery figure and no usable or net value; recorded here as the gross figure. |
| Max DC charging | 40Â kWnoteStated by Jaecoo SA as the charging-station rating inside the charge-time row, not as a vehicle maximum. |
| Max AC charging | 6.6Â kWnoteStated by Jaecoo SA as the charging-station rating inside the charge-time row, not as a vehicle maximum. |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | 10 yearsnoteTen years with no distance limit, for the first owner. |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Cylinders — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Gears — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Fuel tank — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Fuel grade — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Range — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- 0-100 km/h — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- CO2 emissions — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Ground clearance — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Boot (behind 2nd row) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Boot (behind last row) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Kerb weight — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Payload — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Towing (braked) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Global NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Euro NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- ANCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbags — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbag positions — Jaecoo South Africa publishes no airbag list for the SHS derivative.
- Service plan services — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Service interval (distance) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Service interval (time) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Range (WLTP) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Battery warranty distance — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.










