Midsize Suv
Hyundai Tucson
2.0 Premium AT
R559 900List price, as at 2026-08-18
At a glance
Power
115 kW
Consumption
8.9 L/100km
Boot
539 L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
1 650 kg
AU-market source
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 75 000 km
Service plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R9 786 / month
Estimated fuel
R3 486 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R852 309
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Kia Sportage
2WD 1.6T-GDI GT-LINE S · SUV · R823 995
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 2 L |
| Cylinders | 4note2.0-litre naturally aspirated inline engine of this type is a four-cylinder. |
| Power | 115 kW |
| Torque | 192 Nm |
| Transmission | 6-speed automatic |
| Gears | 6 |
| Drivetrain | FWD |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteHyundai SA brochure (Tucson 2.0 Premium AT) states 'Fuel consumption (European testing) / Combined cycle litres/100 km 8.9'. 'European testing' on a current model most likely denotes WLTP, but that is an inference, not a manufacturer-named standard. Value deliberately kept unknown (not 'wltp') to avoid a false Tier-1 match, since the compare engine's tier rule reads cycle value and ignores confidence. Promote to 'wltp' only once Tier-1 requires settled cycle confidence on both sides. The 8.9 L/100km figure is official. |
| Fuel consumption | 8.9 L/100km |
| Fuel tank | 54 L · AU-market sourcenote54 litres, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the same 2.0 petrol Tucson. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteEither South African grade. Hyundai specifies 91-octane petrol for this 2.0 engine in Australia, which both 93 and 95 meet. |
| Range | 606 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | 193 g/kmnoteFrom the same "European testing" brochure line as “Fuel consumption”. |
| Seats | 5noteStandard 5-seat configuration for this bodystyle. |
| Doors | 5noteStandard four side doors plus tailgate for a 5-seat SUV bodystyle. |
| Length | 4 650 mmnote4 650 mm, from Hyundai South Africa’s brochure. |
| Width | 1 865 mmnote1 865 mm, from Hyundai South Africa’s brochure. |
| Height | 1 665 mmnote1 665 mm, from Hyundai South Africa’s brochure. |
| Wheelbase | 2 755 mmnote2 755 mm, from Hyundai South Africa’s brochure. |
| Ground clearance | 181 mmnote181 mm, from Hyundai South Africa’s brochure; Hyundai Australia gives the same figure as minimum ground clearance at kerb weight. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 539 L · AU-market sourcenote539 litres (VDA) with all seats in use, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the petrol Tucson. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 539 LnoteThe Tucson is a five-seater, so the space behind the last row is the same as behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 860 L · AU-market sourcenote1 860 litres (VDA) with the rear seats folded, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the petrol Tucson. |
| Boot (standard) | VDA · AU-market sourcenoteHyundai Australia measures its boot figures to the VDA standard. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 105 kg · AU-market sourcenote2 105 kg, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the 2.0 petrol Tucson. |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 1 650 kg · AU-market sourcenote1 650 kg braked, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the 2.0 petrol Tucson. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · AU-market sourcenote750 kg unbraked, Hyundai Australia’s figure for the 2.0 petrol Tucson. |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteGlobal NCAP has not tested the Tucson. Euro NCAP’s 5-star rating (2021) covers only the 1.6-litre Tucson models sold in Europe. The 2.0 petrol sold in South Africa is not on its list, so the rating does not cover it. ANCAP’s 5-star rating (2021) is for Australian Tucson models, which have a centre airbag and automatic emergency braking as standard. The South African 2.0 Premium has six airbags and no automatic emergency braking, so the rating does not cover it. |
| Airbags | 6noteBrochure names airbag categories (driver, passenger, side, curtain) as standard across all trims but does not give a total count; 6 is the standard configuration implied by those categories. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Passenger, Side, Curtain |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Warranty distance | 150 000 km 30 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Service plan | 5 services / 5 years / 75 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 km |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~103 authorised service points, as at 2 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. Enumerated 2 September 2026 from Hyundai South Africa's own dealer list at /find-a-dealer, which renders the whole national list on one page with no pagination or consent gate. Distinct dealer names reproduce at 101 to 103 across passes, so 103 is approximate rather than exact; higher raw counts are DOM duplicates. All nine provinces are represented, though Hyundai's own province labels contain errors. The list does not distinguish servicing outlets from sales-only ones, so this counts dealer outlets. Compare service networks across all brands →noteAbout 103 South African Hyundai outlets, enumerated rather than sampled. Approximate: distinct names reproduce at 101 to 103. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- 0-100 km/h — No 0–100 km/h figure has been published for this version.
- Kerb weight — Hyundai publishes the kerb weight as a range (1 495–1 616 kg in Australia), not a single figure.
- Payload — Cannot be worked out: the kerb weight is only published as a range.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 75 000 km at 15 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Spare wheel — Hyundai South Africa does not say what spare wheel the Tucson carries.










