Large Suv
BYD Sealion 7
R1 109 900 to R1 325 900List price, as at 2026-09-25, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Sealion 7 Premium. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
230 kW
Sealion 7 Premium only · AU-market source
Range
482 km
Sealion 7 Premium only · AU-market source
Boot
500 L
Sealion 7 Premium only
Seats
5
AU-market source
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Sealion 7 Premium the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R1 109 900 | Not stated |
| Sealion 7 Performance AWD | 5 | R1 325 900 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Sealion 7 Premium. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | N/A |
| Cylinders | N/A |
| Power | 230 kW · AU-market sourcenoteSingle rear motor on the entry derivative; the AWD derivative has 390 kW. |
| Torque | 380 Nm · AU-market sourcenoteAWD derivative makes 690 Nm. |
| Transmission | single-speed reduction gearnoteSingle fixed-ratio drive, as on all BYD EVs. |
| Gears | 1noteSingle fixed ratio. |
| Drivetrain | RWD · AU-market sourcenoteRear-wheel drive; the Performance derivative is all-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | N/A |
| Fuel tank | N/A |
| Fuel grade | N/A |
| Range | 482 km · AU-market sourcenoteWLTP range for the rear-drive derivative; the AWD derivative is rated 456 km. |
| 0-100 km/h | 6.7 s · AU-market sourcenoteAWD derivative claims 4.5 s. |
| CO2 emissions | N/A |
| Seats | 5 · AU-market sourcenoteTwo rows, five seats. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 4 830 mm · AU-market sourcenoteBYD AU figure for the same body and engine. |
| Width | 1 925 mm · AU-market sourcenoteBody width, excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1 620 mm · AU-market sourcenoteBYD AU figure for the same body and engine. |
| Wheelbase | 2 930 mm · AU-market sourcenoteBYD AU figure for the same body and engine. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 500 L · AU-market sourcenoteRear boot with the second row upright; there is also a 58-litre front boot. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 500 LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 2 225 kg · AU-market sourcenoteAWD derivative weighs 2 340 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 635 kg · AU-market sourcenoteAWD derivative is 2 750 kg. |
| Payload | 410 kgnotePayload is the gap between the published gross vehicle mass and the kerb mass, both taken from the same manufacturer table for the same derivative. |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (Euro NCAP 2025) |
| Airbags | 9noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year vehicle warranty. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km · unverified 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | 482 km · AU-market sourcenoteAWD derivative is rated 456 km WLTP. |
| Electric-only range | 482 km · AU-market sourcenoteBattery-electric, so electric range equals total range. |
| Battery (usable) | 82.56 kWh · AU-market sourcenoteBYD publishes one battery capacity figure for this car and does not split it into usable and gross, so the same number stands for both. |
| Battery (gross) | 82.56 kWh · AU-market sourcenoteBlade lithium-iron-phosphate pack; the sheet does not say whether this is gross or usable. |
| Max DC charging | 150 kW · AU-market sourcenoteCCS2 DC charging. |
| Max AC charging | 11 kW · AU-market sourcenoteType 2 AC charging. |
| DC charge 10-80% | 30 minnoteQuoted as 20-80 percent in 30 minutes, not 10-80 percent. |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
| Battery warranty distance | 150 000 kmnoteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Sealion 7 Premium. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Ground clearance — Not published in the sources checked.
- Boot (seats folded) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (braked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Sealion 7. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Warranty (unverified) — Five-year vehicle warranty.
- Warranty distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service plan (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service plan distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- DC charge 10-80% (unverified) — Quoted as 20-80 percent in 30 minutes, not 10-80 percent.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.










