Midsize Suv
BYD Sealion 6
R639 900 to R789 900List price, as at 2025-04-03, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
160 kW
Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort only
Consumption
4.8 L/100km
Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort only
Boot
425 L
Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort only
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R639 900 | Not stated |
| Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Dynamic | 5 | R689 900 | Not stated |
| Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5T Premium AWD | 5 | R789 900 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5 Lnote1.5-litre naturally aspirated petrol engine on the front-wheel-drive derivatives. The Premium AWD uses a turbocharged 1.5. |
| Cylinders | 4noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Power | 160 kWnoteCombined system output on the front-wheel-drive derivatives. The Premium AWD makes 238 kW. |
| Torque | 300 NmnoteFront-wheel-drive derivatives. The Premium AWD makes 550 Nm. |
| Transmission | E-CVT (single-speed EHS hybrid transmission)noteA single fixed ratio, not a conventional stepped automatic. |
| Gears | 1noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteComfort and Dynamic are front-wheel drive; the Premium adds a rear motor for all-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe test cycle behind the local claim is not stated. |
| Fuel consumption | 4.8 L/100kmnoteLocal combined claim. The manufacturer's European data for the same derivative quotes about 6.4 L/100 km alongside a 20.5 g/km CO2 figure, so the two are measured on different bases and the local number is flattered by the battery's contribution. |
| Fuel tank | 60 L · UK-market sourcenoteConfirmed by the manufacturer for the same body and plug-in hybrid powertrain. |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleadednoteThe manufacturer requires a minimum 95-octane petrol for this engine. |
| Range | 1 092 kmnoteClaimed combined petrol-plus-electric range for the front-wheel-drive derivatives; the AWD claims 961 km. |
| 0-100 km/h | 8.5 snoteFront-wheel-drive derivatives. The Premium AWD claims 5.9 seconds. |
| CO2 emissions | 20.5 g/km · UK-market sourcenoteVERIFIED PUBLISHED, 28 September 2026, when the five decimal CO2 figures were checked under the CO2 ruling. BYD own German channel publishes the SEAL U DM-i - the European name for this car - with "CO2-Emission kombiniert: 20,5 g/km". The decimal is the publisher own. CAUTION, kept from the earlier note: this is a WEIGHTED plug-in hybrid figure measured with a charged battery and it is NOT comparable with a conventional SUV combined figure - Australia government Green Vehicle Guide lists the same car at 149 and 164 g/km tailpipe. South Africa publishes no CO2 for this model. Reviewed 28 September 2026. |
| Seats | 5noteFive-seat only; no third row is offered. |
| Doors | 5noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Length | 4 775 mmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Width | 1 890 mm · TH-market sourcenoteBody width excluding mirrors; same body as the local car. |
| Height | 1 670 mm · TH-market sourcenoteBYD TH figure for the same body and engine. |
| Wheelbase | 2 765 mm · TH-market sourcenoteA local road test instead measured/quoted 2 756 mm, a small disagreement. |
| Ground clearance | 180 mm · TH-market sourcenoteUnladen. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 425 L · EG-market sourcenoteRear seats upright, as quoted by the manufacturer. An SA road test using its own measuring method recorded far less usable volume below the parcel shelf. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 425 LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 440 L · EG-market sourcenoteRear seats folded. |
| Kerb weight | 1 850 kg · TH-market sourcenoteFor the 18.3 kWh front-wheel-drive specification. Other sources give heavier figures, so treat as approximate. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2 350 kg · UK-market sourcenoteGross vehicle weight for the same body and 18.3 kWh plug-in hybrid powertrain. |
| Payload | 410 kgnoteDifference between the gross vehicle weight and the kerb weight quoted in the same manufacturer document; the local kerb weight is quoted lower, so the usable payload may differ slightly. |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Sealion 6. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Sealion 6. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 7noteSeven airbags standard across the range. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | Not specified |
| Electric-only range | 80 kmnoteElectric-only range for the front-wheel-drive derivatives; the Premium AWD claims 70 km. One local source attributes the figure to WLTP, another to NEDC, so treat the basis as unconfirmed. |
| Battery (gross) | 18.3 kWhnoteBlade lithium-iron-phosphate pack, the same size on all three local derivatives. Whether this is gross or usable is unstated. A larger 26.6 kWh pack sold in some markets is not offered locally. |
| Max DC charging | 18 kW · UK-market sourcenoteMaximum DC fast-charging power for the plug-in hybrid battery. |
| Max AC charging | 7 kWnoteA 7 kW wall box is supplied with the car locally, along with a portable charger. |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteEight-year cover on the drive battery, with a guaranteed minimum state of health over the term. |
| Battery warranty distance | 200 000 kmnoteThe distance term is model-specific: the smaller Sealion 5 is quoted at 150 000 km locally. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Sealion 6 DM-i 1.5 Comfort. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Consumption cycle (unverified) — The test cycle behind the local claim is not stated.
- Fuel consumption (unverified) — Local combined claim. The manufacturer's European data for the same derivative quotes about 6.4 L/100 km alongside a 20.5 g/km CO2 figure, so the two are measured on different bases and the local number is flattered by the battery's contribution.
- Towing (braked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Sealion 6. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Sealion 6. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbag positions — Only the count of seven is published locally, not the individual airbags.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Range (WLTP) — The manufacturer quotes a combined petrol-plus-electric range for this model rather than a WLTP total range.
- DC charge 10-80% — No 10-80% time is published; the manufacturer quotes 35 minutes from 30% to 80% on DC.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — Eight-year cover on the drive battery, with a guaranteed minimum state of health over the term.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — The distance term is model-specific: the smaller Sealion 5 is quoted at 150 000 km locally.










