Large Suv
BYD Atto 8
R1 059 900 to R1 259 900List price, as at 2026-09-25, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the Atto 8 Premium (DM-i). Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
205 kW
Atto 8 Premium (DM-i) only
Consumption
6.9 L/100km
Atto 8 Premium (DM-i) only
Boot
270 L
Atto 8 Premium (DM-i) only
Seats
7
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Atto 8 Premium (DM-i) the specifications above describe this derivative |
7 | R1 059 900 | Not stated |
| Atto 8 Performance DM-p AWD | 7 | R1 259 900 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Atto 8 Premium (DM-i). Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 1.5 LnoteBadged 1.5T; the exact swept capacity in cc is not printed on the South African sheet. |
| Cylinders | Not specified |
| Power | 205 kWnoteCombined system output of the entry derivative; the Performance derivative makes 359 kW. |
| Torque | 220 NmnoteThis is the petrol engine's own torque figure; the combined engine-plus-motor system torque is not published for this model. |
| Transmission | automatic (DM-i single-speed hybrid drive unit)noteSeries-parallel plug-in hybrid drive rather than a conventional geared gearbox. |
| Gears | Not specified |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteThe Performance derivative adds a rear motor and is all-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe sheet labels the figure 'combined' without naming a test cycle. |
| Fuel consumption | 6.9 L/100kmnoteCombined figure; the Performance derivative is rated 7.8 L/100 km. |
| Fuel tank | 60 LnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 892 kmnoteCombined petrol-plus-electric range; the Performance derivative is rated 844 km. |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 7noteThree rows in a 2+3+2 layout. |
| Doors | 5noteFive-door SUV body. |
| Length | 5 040 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Width | 1 996 mmnoteBody width, excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1 760 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2 950 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 184 mmnoteBYD South Africa. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 960 LnoteThird row folded, second row still upright. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 270 LnoteAll three rows in use, third row upright. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 960 LnoteSecond and third rows both folded. |
| Kerb weight | 2 315 kgnoteThe Performance derivative weighs 2 580 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 6noteCounted from the airbag list published for the South African car, which does not itself print a total. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, front passenger and front seat side airbags; integrated front and rear side air curtainsnoteThe list is as published for the South African car. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteFive-year vehicle warranty, with a matching powertrain warranty. |
| Warranty distance | 100 000 km · unverified 20 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
| Maintenance plan | 5 services / 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 20 000 kmnoteDistance between scheduled services. |
| Spare wheel | None Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteNo spare wheel is supplied; a tyre repair kit is provided instead. |
| Service network | ~22 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 In 5 of the 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | Not specified |
| Electric-only range | 75 kmnoteCycle not stated; the Performance derivative is rated 130 km. |
| Battery (usable) | 19 kWhnoteBYD publishes a single battery capacity figure for this derivative and does not split it into usable and gross. |
| Battery (gross) | 19 kWhnoteBlade lithium-iron-phosphate pack; the sheet does not say whether this is gross or usable. The Performance derivative has 35.6 kWh. |
| Max DC charging | Not specified |
| Max AC charging | 11 kWnoteWall chargers of 7 kW and 11 kW are listed. |
| DC charge 10-80% | Not specified |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
| Battery warranty distance | 200 000 kmnoteSingle source; not yet corroborated. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Atto 8 Premium (DM-i). Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Cylinders — Not published in the sources checked.
- Transmission (unverified) — Series-parallel plug-in hybrid drive rather than a conventional geared gearbox.
- Gears — Not published in the sources checked.
- Fuel grade — Not published in the sources checked.
- 0-100 km/h — Not published in the sources checked.
- CO2 emissions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Gross vehicle mass — Not published in the sources checked.
- Payload — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (braked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BYD Atto 8. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Warranty (unverified) — Five-year vehicle warranty, with a matching powertrain warranty.
- Warranty distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service plan (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service plan services (unverified) — Worked out from the plan’s 100 000 km at 20 000 km between services. The plan also ends at 5 years, which would bring the count down if services fall due more often than once a year.
- Service plan distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — Distance between scheduled services.
- Range (WLTP) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Max DC charging — Not published in the sources checked.
- DC charge 10-80% — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — Single source; not yet corroborated.










