BMW X7
Large Suv

BMW X7

R2 110 000 to R2 515 000List price, as at 2026-01-01, across the range

At a glance

These figures describe the X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Power
250 kW
X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence only
Consumption
8.1 L/100km
X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence only
Boot
326 L
X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence only · other-market source
Seats
7
other-market source
Towing (braked)
3 500 kg
X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence only
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan

Decide

Derivatives in this range

As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.

DerivativeSeatsPriceSpare wheel
X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence
the specifications above describe this derivative
7 R2 110 000 Not stated
X7 xDrive40d M Sport 7 R2 185 000 Not stated
X7 M60i xDrive 7 R2 515 000 Not stated

Full specifications

The figures below describe the X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 3 L
note2 993 cm3 turbodiesel six.
Cylinders 6
noteInline six.
Power 250 kW
note250 kW from the engine; BMW quotes 259 kW total once the 48-volt starter-generator boost is counted, and that is the figure on the model page.
Torque 700 Nm
noteThe M60i V8 makes 750 Nm.
Transmission 8-speed Steptronic automatic
noteTorque-converter automatic with paddle shifters.
Gears 8
noteBMW South Africa.
Drivetrain AWD
noteBMW xDrive all-wheel drive on every derivative; unibody, not ladder-frame.
Consumption cycle WLTP
noteBMW South Africa.
Fuel consumption 8.1 L/100km
noteManufacturer's combined figure; the V8 M60i is quoted at 12,2 l/100 km.
Fuel tank 80 L
noteThe petrol M60i carries 83 litres.
Fuel grade Diesel (50ppm)
noteDiesel. BMW specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel.
Range 987 km
noteCalculated from the 80-litre tank at the claimed 8,1 l/100 km; expect less in practice.
0-100 km/h 5.9 s
noteTop speed 245 km/h; the M60i does 4,7 s and 250 km/h.
CO2 emissions 213 g/km
noteCombined WLTP; the M60i is 277 g/km.
Seats 7 · other-market source
noteThree rows seating seven; a six-seat layout with two individual second-row chairs is offered instead.
Doors 5 · other-market source
noteFour doors plus a split tailgate.
Length 5 181 mm
noteBMW South Africa.
Width 2 000 mm
noteExcluding mirrors.
Height 1 835 mm
noteBMW South Africa.
Wheelbase 3 105 mm
noteBMW SA's X7 model page omits the wheelbase; the figure comes from BMW SA's own X7 technical data page.
Ground clearance Not specified
Boot (behind 2nd row) 750 L
noteThird row folded, second row upright.
Boot (behind last row) 326 L · other-market source
noteAll three rows in use.
Boot (seats folded) 2 120 L
noteSecond and third rows folded.
Boot (standard) VDA
noteBMW quotes luggage volumes to the European VDA method.
Kerb weight 2 565 kg
noteBMW South Africa.
Gross vehicle mass 3 325 kg
noteBMW South Africa.
Payload 835 kg
noteManufacturer-published permitted load for this derivative in South Africa.
Towing (braked) 3 500 kg
noteWith the optional towbar; 140 kg maximum towbar download.
Towing (unbraked) 750 kg · other-market source
noteBMW other figure for the same body and engine.
Safety
Safety rating No crash-test rating for this version
noteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BMW X7. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BMW X7. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
Airbags 7
noteAirbag count for this derivative.
Airbag positions Not specified
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 2 years
noteSouth African new-vehicle warranty runs for two years with no distance limit.
Warranty distance Unlimited
No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only.
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
Maintenance plan 5 years / 100 000 km
How it is supplied Included with the vehicle
Service interval (distance) Set by the car’s service indicator
Service interval (time) Set by the car’s service indicator
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
Service network ~46 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026
Provincial spread not measured.
Compare service networks across all brands →
noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records.

What we can't tell you yet

Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.

These gaps are recorded for the X7 xDrive40d Design Pure Excellence. Other derivatives in this range differ.

Appears in