Large Suv
BMW X5 xDrive50e
G05 LCI
R1 930 000List price, as at 2026-10-09
At a glance
Power
360 kW
Consumption
1.9 L/100km
Boot
1720 L
seats folded
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
2 700 kg
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Estimated instalment
R33 733 / month
Estimated fuel
R744 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R2 261 647
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 3 Lnote2 998 cm3, rounded to 3.0 litres. An in-line six-cylinder BMW TwinPower Turbo petrol unit. |
| Cylinders | 6 |
| Power | 360 kWnoteCombined system output. |
| Torque | 700 NmnoteCombined system torque. |
| Transmission | 8-speed Steptronic Sport automatic |
| Gears | 8 |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteBMW xDrive. |
| Consumption cycle | NEDCnoteNot WLTP. BMW SA attaches its WLTP asterisk to the electric-range column alone; the consumption and CO2 figures are governed by a separate note naming the NEDC-family procedure. BMW SA footnote, verbatim: "The published fuel consumption and CO2 emission figures are established according to legislated technical specifications (UNECE Regulation 101/UN Regulation 83 and SANS 20101 standards), which sets out the procedures that are used to measure the CO2 emissions and fuel consumption." |
| Fuel consumption | 1.9 L/100km (weighted, charged battery)noteThe weighted combined plug-in hybrid figure, not a petrol-only number: BMW SA says so in its own footnote. BMW SA footnote on the same page, verbatim: "For plug-in hybrid: Weighted, combined (EC AC Charge Weighted)". The charge-sustaining figure is not published by BMW SA; its compare tool carries the row "Fuel consumption with a discharged battery, combined WLTP in l/100 km" and leaves it null. BMW AG’s European WLTP figure for the same car is 1.1 to 0.8 L/100 km, a different basis. |
| Fuel tank | 69 L |
| Fuel grade | 95 unleaded — BMW SA, verbatim: "Performance data of petrol engines apply to vehicles using RON 98 fuel." / "Unleaded RON 91 and higher with a maximum ethanol content of 10% (E10) may also be used." / "BMW recommends the use of a fuel with RON 95."noteBMW recommends RON 95. Performance figures are quoted on RON 98 and RON 91 or higher may be used. |
| 0-100 km/h | 4.8 snoteTop speed 250 km/h, electric top speed 140 km/h. Neither BMW SA nor BMW AG labels the 250 km/h figure as limited. |
| CO2 emissions | 41 g/kmnoteBMW SA also records the derivative’s CO2 emissions tax as zero at this figure. BMW SA footnote, verbatim: "The published fuel consumption and CO2 emission figures are established according to legislated technical specifications (UNECE Regulation 101/UN Regulation 83 and SANS 20101 standards), which sets out the procedures that are used to measure the CO2 emissions and fuel consumption." BMW AG’s European WLTP figure is 26 to 18 g/km, a different basis. |
| Seats | 5noteBMW SA publishes no seat count for this car on any surface. |
| Doors | 5noteNot published by BMW SA; the standard five-door SAV body. |
| Length | 4 935 mm |
| Width | 2 004 mmnoteExcluding mirrors. BMW SA also publishes 2 218 mm including mirrors. |
| Height | 1 755 mmnoteDescribes the standard adaptive suspension. Two-axle air suspension is a separate option and a car so fitted will not match this height. |
| Wheelbase | 2 975 mmnoteBMW SA publishes no turning circle; BMW AG gives 12.6 m. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 500 LnoteSeats up. The plug-in hybrid boot is 150 litres smaller than the petrol and diesel X5’s at both ends, the drive battery taking the space. |
| Boot (behind last row) | Not specified |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1 720 LnoteSeats folded. |
| Kerb weight | 2 495 kgnoteThe EU basis, which includes a driver. BMW AG publishes both bases: 2 420 kg DIN and 2 495 kg EU. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3 200 kg |
| Payload | 780 kg |
| Towing (braked) | 2 700 kgnoteConditional on the tow-bar option: BMW’s row reads "Optionally delivered with support for trailer load". Towbar download 140 kg. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750 kg · DE-market sourcenoteBMW South Africa publishes no unbraked figure; its compare tool has no such row. |
| Safety rating | Not specified |
| Airbags | Not specified |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | Not specified |
| Warranty distance | Not specified Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Service interval (time) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Spare wheel | Run-flat Run-flat tyres and no spare wheel. BMW SA publishes no wheel, tyre or spare-wheel row for this derivative on any surface; the X5 brochure states run-flats as standard for the range. Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteRun-flat tyres and no spare wheel. BMW SA publishes no wheel, tyre or spare-wheel row for this derivative, so applying the X5 brochure’s range-wide run-flat statement to the plug-in hybrid is our determination. |
| Service network | Not stated Compare service networks across all brands → |
| Range (WLTP) | 101 kmnoteThe same 101 km figure, recorded against WLTP because BMW SA’s asterisk names that cycle for it and for nothing else on the page. |
| Electric-only range | 101 kmnoteBMW SA names WLTP for this figure. The October 2026 price list gives 101 km; the July 2025 price list gave 110 km, so the figure has been revised down. BMW AG’s European band is 94 to 110 km WLTP. |
| Battery (usable) | 25.7 kWhnoteBMW SA publishes this figure without saying it is the net value; BMW AG labels it net and describes it in prose as "usable energy". |
| Battery (gross) | 29.5 kWh · DE-market sourcenoteBMW South Africa publishes one unlabelled battery number, 25,7 kWh, which is the net figure. The gross figure is published only by BMW AG. |
| Max DC charging | N/A |
| Max AC charging | 7.4 kW · DE-market sourcenoteBMW South Africa publishes no charging power: its compare tool carries the rows "Maximum charging power AC in kW" and "Charging time AC 0-100% in h" and leaves both null. BMW does not publish a maximum AC power row anywhere either; 7.4 kW is the rate stated inside BMW AG’s 0-100 per cent charging-time row. BMW UK’s current page instead shows 11 kW with a 2 h 45 min full charge, which is likely a later three-phase charger; that figure is not recorded for the SA car. |
| DC charge 10-80% | N/A |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Ground clearance — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Boot (behind last row) — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Global NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Euro NCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- ANCAP rating — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbags — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Airbag positions — Not verified for this derivative.
- Warranty — BMW South Africa publishes no warranty terms. Searched the October 2026 and July 2025 Range Price Lists (neither has a warranty section at all), bmw.co.za’s X5 and service pages and BMW SA PressClub. Cars.co.za reports a 2-year/unlimited-km warranty for the X5 range, which is not recorded here.
- Warranty distance — See warranty_years: BMW South Africa publishes no warranty terms.
- Warranty distance unlimited — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Service plan services — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Service network — Not published for this derivative by the manufacturer or any source worked in the hierarchy.
- Battery warranty — BMW South Africa publishes no high-voltage battery warranty for this car. Searched both 2025 and the October 2026 Range Price Lists, bmw.co.za’s X5, electric-cars, plug-in-hybrid and home-charging pages and BMW SA PressClub. The nearest BMW SA figure found is historical and for a different car: the July 2016 X5 price list gave an 8-year/100 000 km high-voltage battery warranty for the xDrive40e.
- Battery warranty distance — See battery_warranty_years: BMW South Africa publishes no high-voltage battery warranty for this car.










