Midsize Suv Flagship derivative

BMW X3

xDrive M50 · G45
R1 530 000List price, as at 2026-08-18

At a glance

Power
293 kW
Consumption
8.3 L/100km
Boot
570 L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
2 500 kg
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Motorplan

Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)

Estimated instalment
R26 742 / month
Estimated fuel
R3 251 / month
5-year total (deposit + instalments + fuel)
R1 952 566

Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, 11.75% interest, 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at R23.50/L. Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.

Decide

Full specifications

Performance & Dimensions
Engine capacity 2.998 L
Cylinders 6
Power 293 kW
Torque 580 Nm
Transmission 8-speed automatic
Gears 8
Drivetrain AWD
Consumption cycle WLTP
Fuel consumption 8.3 L/100km
note7.7u20138.3 l/100km range; upper bound recorded.
Fuel tank 65 L
Fuel grade 95 unleaded
noteRON 98 recommended by BMW; the closed enum records 95 as the floor grade u2014 see fuel_grade_note for the manufacturer figure.
Range 783 km
notefuel_tank_l \u00f7 consumption_l100 \u00d7 100, floored.
0-100 km/h 4.6 s
CO2 emissions 189 g/km
note175u2013189 g/km range; upper bound recorded.
Seats 5
Doors 5
noteStandard 5-door configuration for this body style; not explicitly restated on the spec page checked.
Length 4 755 mm
Width 1 920 mm
Height 1 660 mm
Wheelbase 2 865 mm
Ground clearance Not specified
Boot (behind 2nd row) 570 L
notefive-seater; last row is the second row.
Boot (behind last row) 570 L
Boot (seats folded) 1 700 L
Boot (standard) Not specified
Kerb weight 2 055 kg
Gross vehicle mass 2 625 kg
Payload 645 kg
Towing (braked) 2 500 kg
Towing (unbraked) Not specified
Safety
Safety rating Not specified
Airbags Not specified
Airbag positions
noteNo airbag configuration published on the pages checked; recorded as an empty/unverified list rather than guessed.
Ownership & Running Costs
Warranty 2 years
noteSame basis as the xDrive20d record.
Warranty distance Unlimited
No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only.
Compare warranties across all SUVs →
Motorplan 5 years / 100 000 km
How it is supplied Included as standard — can be declined
Service interval (distance) Not specified
Service interval (time) Not specified
Spare wheel & SA ownership
Spare wheel Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →
Service network ~46 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026
Provincial spread not measured.
Motorplan retailers, 6 of 6 sampled. Count is BMW South Africa's own published figure rather than a locator tally, so no provincial spread was measured; range 46-48. Premium networks are deliberately smaller and differently distributed.
Compare service networks across all brands →
Electrification
Range (WLTP) N/A
Electric-only range N/A
Battery (usable) Not specified
Battery (gross) Not specified
Max DC charging N/A
Max AC charging N/A
DC charge 10-80% N/A
Battery warranty Not specified
Battery warranty distance Not specified

What we can't tell you yet

These fields are not confirmed from an official South African source. Rather than guess, we've left them marked as unknown.

Appears in