Midsize Suv
BMW iX3
R1Â 498Â 000 to R1Â 720Â 000List price, as at 2026-09-03, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the iX3 50 xDrive M Sport. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
345Â kW
iX3 50 xDrive M Sport only
Range
805Â km
iX3 50 xDrive M Sport only
Boot
520Â L
iX3 50 xDrive M Sport only
Seats
5
DE-market source
Towing (braked)
2Â 000Â kg
iX3 50 xDrive M Sport only
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| iX3 40 (rear-wheel drive) | 5 | R1Â 498Â 000 | Not stated |
| iX3 50 xDrive M Sport the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R1Â 690Â 000 | Not stated |
| iX3 50 xDrive M Sport Pro | 5 | R1Â 720Â 000 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the iX3 50 xDrive M Sport. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | N/A |
| Cylinders | N/A |
| Power | 345Â kWnoteCombined output of the two motors. The rear-wheel-drive iX3 40 arriving later makes 235 kW. |
| Torque | 645Â Nm · DE-market sourcenoteThe iX3 40 is quoted at 500 Nm. |
| Transmission | single-speed reduction gearnoteOne fixed ratio per motor, as on all battery-electric BMWs. |
| Gears | 1noteDerived from published figures. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteDual-motor all-wheel drive on the 50 xDrive. The iX3 40 arriving in 2027 is rear-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | N/A |
| Fuel tank | N/A |
| Fuel grade | N/A |
| Range | 805Â kmnoteReported figure for the South African car; not published by the manufacturer in the sources checked. |
| 0-100 km/h | 4.9Â snoteBMW South Africa. |
| CO2 emissions | N/A |
| Seats | 5 · DE-market sourcenoteFive-seat only; no third row is offered. |
| Doors | 5noteBMW South Africa. |
| Length | 4Â 782Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Width | 1Â 895Â mmnoteBody width excluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 635Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 897Â mm · DE-market sourcenoteBMW DE figure for the same body and engine. |
| Ground clearance | 176Â mm · DE-market sourcenoteBMW DE figure for the same body and engine. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 520Â L · DE-market sourcenoteRear seats upright. A further 58 litres of storage sits under the bonnet. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 520Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 750Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteBMW quotes European boot volumes, which are conventionally measured to the VDA method, but the sheet does not say so explicitly. |
| Kerb weight | 2Â 285Â kg · DE-market sourcenoteDIN kerb weight. The EU figure, which adds a 75 kg driver allowance, is 2 360 kg and is the number BMW South Africa quotes. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 2Â 825Â kg · DE-market sourcenoteBMW DE figure for the same body and engine. |
| Payload | 540Â kg · DE-market sourcenoteMaximum load measured from the unladen kerb weight, so it includes the driver. |
| Towing (braked) | 2Â 000Â kgnoteWith a nose weight limit of 80 kg. |
| Towing (unbraked) | 750Â kg · DE-market sourcenoteBMW DE figure for the same body and engine. |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (Euro NCAP 2026) |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 2 yearsnoteTwo years with no distance limit. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Service interval (time) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~46 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 Provincial spread not measured. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | 805Â km · DE-market sourcenoteBMW DE figure for the same body and engine. |
| Electric-only range | 805Â km · DE-market sourcenoteBattery-electric, so the electric range and the total range are the same figure. |
| Battery (usable) | 108.7Â kWh · DE-market sourcenoteNet (usable) capacity, as quoted by the manufacturer. The pack uses cylindrical cells on an 800-volt architecture. |
| Max DC charging | 400Â kWnotePeak DC rate on the 800-volt system. BMW claims up to 372 km of range added in ten minutes. |
| Max AC charging | 11Â kW · DE-market sourcenoteStandard on-board AC charger, with a 22 kW unit offered as an option in some markets. SA fitment is not confirmed. |
| DC charge 10-80% | 21Â minnoteOn a 400 kW, 800-volt DC charger. |
| Battery warranty | 8 yearsnoteThe local source hedges on this term, so it is worth confirming with the dealer. |
| Battery warranty distance | 100Â 000Â kmnoteThe local source hedges on this term, so it is worth confirming with the dealer. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the iX3 50 xDrive M Sport. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Boot (standard) (unverified) — BMW quotes European boot volumes, which are conventionally measured to the VDA method, but the sheet does not say so explicitly.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BMW iX3. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Warranty (unverified) — Two years with no distance limit.
- Warranty distance (unverified) — The warranty has no distance cap - it runs on time alone.
- Warranty distance unlimited (unverified) — No distance cap on this warranty.
- Service plan (unverified) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Service plan distance (unverified) — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty (unverified) — The local source hedges on this term, so it is worth confirming with the dealer.
- Battery warranty distance (unverified) — The local source hedges on this term, so it is worth confirming with the dealer.










