Large Suv
BMW iX
R2Â 249Â 000 to R2Â 689Â 000List price, as at 2026-09-25, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the iX xDrive45. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Power
300Â kW
iX xDrive45 only
Range
616Â km
iX xDrive45 only
Boot
500Â L
iX xDrive45 only
Seats
5
other-market source
Towing (braked)
2Â 500Â kg
iX xDrive45 only
Cover
5 years / 100 000 km
Maintenance plan
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| iX xDrive45 the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R2Â 249Â 000 | Not stated |
| iX xDrive60 | 5 | R2Â 689Â 000 | Not stated |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the iX xDrive45. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | N/A |
| Cylinders | N/A |
| Power | 300Â kWnoteCombined output of two motors, one per axle. The xDrive60 makes 400 kW. |
| Torque | 700Â NmnoteThe xDrive60 makes 765 Nm. |
| Transmission | single-speed reduction gear · other-market sourcenoteOne fixed ratio per motor - electric cars have no gearbox to shift. |
| Gears | 1 · other-market sourcenoteBMW other figure for the same body and engine. |
| Drivetrain | AWDnoteElectric all-wheel drive, one motor on each axle; unibody, not ladder-frame. |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | N/A |
| Fuel tank | N/A |
| Fuel grade | N/A |
| Range | 616Â kmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| 0-100 km/h | 5.1Â snoteTop speed 200 km/h, electronically limited. The xDrive60 does 4,6 s. |
| CO2 emissions | 0Â g/kmnoteA battery-electric vehicle, so there are no tailpipe carbon dioxide emissions. |
| Seats | 5 · other-market sourcenoteFive seats; no third row is offered. |
| Doors | 5 · other-market sourcenoteFour doors plus a tailgate. |
| Length | 4Â 965Â mmnoteThe updated xDrive45 and xDrive60 are 12 mm longer than the earlier iX xDrive40/xDrive50. |
| Width | 1Â 970Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 695Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 3Â 000Â mmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | Not specified |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 500Â LnoteRear seats upright. There is no front boot under the bonnet. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 500Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 1Â 750Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteBMW quotes luggage volumes to the European VDA method. |
| Kerb weight | 2Â 525Â kgnoteThe xDrive60 is 2 580 kg. |
| Gross vehicle mass | 3Â 100Â kgnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Payload | 650Â kgnoteManufacturer-published permitted load for this derivative in South Africa. |
| Towing (braked) | 2Â 500Â kgnoteWith the optional towbar; 100 kg maximum towbar download. Towing will cut the range sharply. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | 5 stars (Euro NCAP 2021) |
| Airbags | 7noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 2 yearsnoteSouth African new-vehicle warranty runs for two years with no distance limit. |
| Warranty distance | Unlimited No distance cap — this warranty is limited by time only. Compare warranties across all SUVs → |
| Maintenance plan | 5 years / 100 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Service interval (time) | Set by the car’s service indicator |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~46 authorised service points, as at 18 August 2026 Provincial spread not measured. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBrand service-outlet count from the manufacturer's South African locator, same figure as the brand's other records. |
| Range (WLTP) | 616Â kmnoteBMW South Africa. |
| Electric-only range | 616Â kmnoteSame as the WLTP range - the iX has no engine, so all of its range is electric. |
| Battery (usable) | 94.3Â kWhnoteUsable capacity. BMW's own German spec sheet for the same car gives 94,8 kWh net, so treat the last decimal as approximate. |
| Battery (gross) | 94.8Â kWhnoteGross high-voltage battery capacity as published by the manufacturer for this derivative. |
| Max DC charging | 175Â kW · other-market sourcenoteThe bigger-battery xDrive60 takes up to 195 kW. |
| Max AC charging | 11Â kW · other-market sourcenote11 kW three-phase as standard, 22 kW optional; 7,4 kW on a single-phase supply. |
| DC charge 10-80% | 34Â min · other-market sourcenoteOn a 175 kW DC fast charger; South Africa has relatively few chargers at that power. |
| Battery warranty | Not specified |
| Battery warranty distance | Not specified |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the iX xDrive45. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- Ground clearance — Not published in the sources checked.
- Towing (unbraked) — Not published in the sources checked.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BMW iX. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — Not published in the sources checked.
- Spare wheel — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty — Not published in the sources checked.
- Battery warranty distance — Not published in the sources checked.










