Midsize Suv
BAIC B40 Plus
From R699Â 500List price, as at 2026-09-22, across the range
At a glance
These figures describe the B40 Plus 2.0T Honor Edition.
Power
165Â kW
Consumption
Not specified
Boot
532Â L
Seats
5
Towing (braked)
Not specified
Cover
5Â yr / 120Â 000Â km
Warranty
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| B40 Plus 2.0T Honor Edition the specifications above describe this derivative |
5 | R699Â 500 | Full-size |
Full specifications
The figures below describe the B40 Plus 2.0T Honor Edition.
| Engine capacity | 2Â LnoteTurbocharged petrol. |
| Cylinders | 4noteFour cylinders, still resting on a single source. |
| Power | 165Â kWnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Torque | 380Â NmnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Transmission | 8-speed automaticnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Gears | 8noteBAIC South Africa. |
| Drivetrain | 4x4noteSelectable (part-time) four-wheel drive with a low-range transfer case. |
| Consumption cycle | N/A |
| Fuel consumption | Not specified |
| Fuel tank | 75Â LnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Fuel grade | 95 / 93 unleadednoteThe manufacturer specifies a 92-octane minimum for this engine, so either South African grade is suitable. |
| Range | Not specified |
| 0-100 km/h | Not specified |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | 5noteBAIC South Africa. |
| Doors | 5noteA five-door body, still resting on a single source. |
| Length | 4Â 630Â mmnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Width | 1Â 925Â mmnoteExcluding mirrors. |
| Height | 1Â 871Â mmnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Wheelbase | 2Â 745Â mmnoteBAIC South Africa. |
| Ground clearance | 210Â mmnoteMinimum ground clearance. |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 532Â LnoteRear seats upright. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 532Â LnoteTwo-row SUV: the space behind the last row is the space behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 965Â LnoteRear seats folded. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteNo Global NCAP Africa result. Euro NCAP has published no result for the BAIC B40 Plus. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP has published no result for the BAIC B40 Plus. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page. |
| Airbags | 2noteAirbag count for this derivative. |
| Airbag positions | Not specified |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteShorter than the B30's cover. |
| Warranty distance | 120 000 km 24 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteBAIC South Africa. |
| Service plan | 4 services / 4 years / 60 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Available separately, not included in the price |
| Service interval (distance) | 15Â 000Â kmnoteA 15 000 km interval, still resting on a single source. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteOr every 12 months, still resting on a single source. |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteEntry derivative. |
| Service network | ~41 authorised service points, as at 22 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. Compare service networks across all brands →noteBAIC SA dealer outlets in South Africa; the locator does not flag which sites service vehicles. |
| Differential lock | RearnoteElectronic rear differential lock, standard. A front axle electronic lock is a factory option on this edition. |
| Low range | YesnotePart-time four-wheel drive with a reduction gear, still resting on a single source. |
| Approach angle | 37°noteBAIC South Africa. |
| Departure angle | 31°noteBAIC South Africa. |
| Breakover angle | 23°noteBAIC South Africa. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the B40 Plus 2.0T Honor Edition.
- Cylinders (unverified) — Four cylinders, still resting on a single source.
- Fuel consumption — No fuel consumption figure is published for this derivative.
- Range — Range cannot be given because no fuel consumption figure is published.
- 0-100 km/h — No acceleration claim is published for this model.
- CO2 emissions — No CO2 figure is published for this model.
- Doors (unverified) — A five-door body, still resting on a single source.
- Kerb weight — Kerb mass is not published for this model.
- Gross vehicle mass — Gross vehicle mass is not published for this model.
- Payload — Payload cannot be stated because neither gross vehicle mass nor kerb mass is published.
- Towing (braked) — No towing rating is published for this model.
- Towing (unbraked) — No towing rating is published for this model.
- Euro NCAP rating — Euro NCAP has published no result for the BAIC B40 Plus. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- ANCAP rating — ANCAP has published no result for the BAIC B40 Plus. If it tests a version matching this specification, the result belongs on this page.
- Airbags (unverified) — Airbag count for this derivative.
- Airbag positions — The manufacturer does not itemise which airbags this model has.
- Service interval (distance) (unverified) — A 15 000 km interval, still resting on a single source.
- Low range (unverified) — Part-time four-wheel drive with a reduction gear, still resting on a single source.
- Wading depth — Not published for this version.










