Tata Punch 1.2 Adventure MT
At a glance
Cost to own (illustrative, 5 years)
Illustrative only, based on standard assumptions not specific to this vehicle: 10% deposit, interest at 11.75% (prime 10.75%, South African Reserve Bank from 25 Sep 2026, plus 1%), 72-month term, 20 000 km/year, fuel at 95 petrol R30.25/L (inland, official prices from 7 Oct 2026). Service and insurance costs are not modelled here. Use the Finance Calculator for figures based on your own inputs.
Decide
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
| Engine capacity | 1.2 L |
| Cylinders | 3 |
| Power | 65 kW |
| Torque | 115 Nm |
| Transmission | manual |
| Gears | 5 |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteThe manufacturer labels the figure "combined" without naming a test standard, so it is recorded as an unstated South African combined figure. |
| Fuel consumption | 5.3 L/100km |
| Fuel tank | 35 L |
| Fuel grade | Not specified |
| Range | 660 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 15.49 snote15.49 seconds, measured in a South African road test of a Punch with the same 1.2 manual. |
| CO2 emissions | 126 g/km |
| Seats | 5 |
| Doors | 5noteFive doors: four side doors and a tailgate. |
| Length | 3 827 mm |
| Width | 1 742 mm |
| Height | 1 615 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2 445 mm |
| Ground clearance | 187 mm |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 366 L |
| Boot (behind last row) | 366 LnoteThe Punch is a five-seater, so the space behind the last row is the same as behind the second row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | Not specified |
| Kerb weight | 1 034 kg |
| Gross vehicle mass | 1 458 kg |
| Payload | 424 kgnote424 kg: gross vehicle mass (1 458 kg) minus kerb weight (1 034 kg), both from Tata South Africa for the Adventure MT. |
| Towing (braked) | Not specified |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | Global NCAP · 5 stars adult · 4 stars child (2021) |
| Airbags | 2noteTata lists the airbag row as "Dual" across all five variants. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, PassengernoteDriver and front passenger airbags. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteStated range-wide by Tata at the South African launch. Not carried on the current specification page. |
| Warranty distance | 125 000 km 25 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteStated range-wide by Tata at the South African launch. Not carried on the current specification page. |
| Service plan | 3 services / 3 years / 45 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 kmnoteEvery 15 000 km, or once a year if you drive less than that. |
| Service interval (time) | 12 monthsnoteEvery 12 months if you drive less than 15 000 km a year. |
| Spare wheel | Full-size Tata publishes the spare tyre as 185/70 R15, the same size as the fitted tyre. The words "full size" are not used; the classification follows from the size matching. Compare spare wheels across all SUVs →noteDerived from the published spare tyre size matching the fitted tyre size. |
| Service network | ~45 authorised service points, as at 21 September 2026 Provincial spread not measured. Enumerated 21 September 2026 from Tata Motors South Africa’s own dealer locator (tatacars.co.za/dealer-locator), which renders the national list on one page: 45 distinct "TATA Motors" dealerships, each with its own address, phone and opening hours. Counts dealer outlets as listed; the locator does not separate sales from workshop facilities. Compare service networks across all brands →note45 Tata dealerships listed by Tata Motors South Africa. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
- Fuel grade — Tata South Africa does not state the fuel grade.
- 0-100 km/h (unverified) — 15.49 seconds, measured in a South African road test of a Punch with the same 1.2 manual.
- Boot (seats folded) — Tata publishes only the 366-litre seats-up figure.
- Towing (braked) — Tata South Africa does not publish a towing capacity.
- Towing (unbraked) — Tata South Africa does not publish a towing capacity.















