Renault Trafic Passenger
At a glance
These figures describe the Evolution. Other derivatives in this range differ.
Decide
Derivatives in this range
As recorded for each derivative. "Not stated" means the figure is not recorded for that derivative, not that the vehicle lacks it.
| Derivative | Seats | Price | Spare wheel |
| Evolution the specifications above describe this derivative |
Not stated | R979 999 | Not stated |
| Evolution + | Not stated | R1 016 999 | Not stated |
| Techno + | Not stated | R1 049 999 | Not stated |
Similar vehicles
Vehicles with an established competitive relationship to this one - the rivals we researched here, plus any record whose own research named this one. Not an algorithm, and not everything in the segment.
Full specifications
The figures below describe the Evolution. Other derivatives in this range differ.
| Engine capacity | 2 L · GB-market sourcenoteRenault does not publish an engine specification for the Trafic Passenger in South Africa. This comes from Renault United Kingdom's own technical sheet for the same 2.0 diesel, which is the same engine by code and is unaffected by how the vehicle is homologated locally. |
| Cylinders | 4 · GB-market sourcenoteRenault does not publish an engine specification for the Trafic Passenger in South Africa. This comes from Renault United Kingdom's own technical sheet for the same 2.0 diesel, which is the same engine by code and is unaffected by how the vehicle is homologated locally. |
| Power | 125 kWnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "125 at 3,500". The brochure's specification table has a single column headed "Blue dCi Auto", and the model page describes "a powerful yet efficient Blue dCi turbo diesel engine" in the singular, so this figure describes the one powertrain all three trims share rather than the “Derivative these figures describe” trim alone. |
| Torque | 380 NmnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "380 at 1,500". The brochure's specification table has a single column headed "Blue dCi Auto", and the model page describes "a powerful yet efficient Blue dCi turbo diesel engine" in the singular, so this figure describes the one powertrain all three trims share rather than the “Derivative these figures describe” trim alone. |
| Transmission | EAG9 9 speed automatic gearboxnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "EAG9 9 speed automatic gearbox", recorded in Renault's own designation. No manual gearbox appears anywhere in the document. |
| Gears | 9noteRead from Renault's designation "EAG9 9 speed automatic gearbox", which states the count itself rather than leaving it to be inferred from a name. |
| Drivetrain | FWDnoteFront-wheel drive. |
| Consumption cycle | Combined cycle (test standard not stated by manufacturer)noteCombined-cycle figure published for the South African market with no test standard named. |
| Fuel consumption | 7.2 L/100kmnote7.2 l/100 km combined for the Evolution. |
| Fuel tank | 80 Lnote80 l. |
| Fuel grade | Diesel (50ppm)noteDiesel. Renault specifies a diesel engine; the grade shown is South Africa's 50 ppm low-sulphur diesel. |
| Range | 1 111 kmnoteWorked out from the tank size and the claimed consumption, rounded down. |
| 0-100 km/h | 12.8 s · ES-market sourcenote12.8 seconds, Renault’s claim in Spain for the same 170 hp diesel with the 9-speed automatic. |
| CO2 emissions | Not specified |
| Seats | up to 9noteNine, recorded as a maximum rather than a count - see “Seat count basis”. Renault states "up to 9 passengers" on the model page and the brochure's volume table names an "8/9-seat version" and a "5/6-seat version" of the same vehicle, with 3 to 9 seats available across trims. The figure is the most seats Renault offers, not the number this vehicle has. |
| Doors | 5noteFive: two front doors, two sliding side doors and a top-hinged tailgate. Described the same way in three South African launch reports; Renault does not print a door count locally. |
| Length | 5 480 mmnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "overall length 5480". The document names the body designation "L2H1" and offers no second length or wheelbase - no L1, no short or extended variant appears anywhere - so there is no body-configuration question under clause four. |
| Width | 1 956 mmnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "overall width without/with door mirrors 1,956/2,312". Renault labels both, so the body width is taken from the label rather than by convention. This is the figure the Vito Tourer could not supply, where Mercedes-Benz published only the mirrored widths. |
| Height | 1 973 mmnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "unladen height 1,973". Renault names the loading state, which the height rows in most of this catalogue do not. |
| Wheelbase | 3 498 mmnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "wheelbase 3,498". |
| Ground clearance | 199 mmnote199 mm, from Renault South Africa's own Trafic Passenger brochure (L2H1). |
| Boot (behind 2nd row) | 3 570 LnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "8/9-seat version/row 3 folded" 3,570. Renault names the folded row, so the figure places to the space behind the second row without inference. |
| Boot (behind last row) | 1 890 LnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08) places each volume against a named seat configuration under the heading "effective volume(2) (L)": "8/9-seat version" 1,890. All rows in use, so this is the volume behind the last row. |
| Boot (seats folded) | 4 200 LnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "5/6-seat version" 4,200 - the largest volume Renault states for any configuration. |
| Boot (standard) | VDAnoteRenault names its own measurement method in footnote (2) to the volume table: "VDA method: space is measured using 1 litre elements sized 200 x 100 x 50 mm." The figures can therefore be placed to a seat row AND a standard, which is the Suzuki pattern rather than the Mercedes-Benz one, where a single unqualified volume could be placed to neither. |
| Kerb weight | Not specified |
| Gross vehicle mass | Not specified |
| Payload | Not specified |
| Towing (braked) | 2 500 kgnote2 500 kg braked. |
| Towing (unbraked) | Not specified |
| Safety rating | No crash-test rating for this versionnoteGlobal NCAP has published no result for the Trafic. Its Africa results list carries only two Renaults, the Triber and the Kwid. Euro NCAP has assessed the Trafic only under its separate commercial-van scheme, which grades driver-assistance equipment rather than how the vehicle protects the people inside it. That is a different assessment from the star rating shown here, so none applies. If Euro NCAP crash-tests a Trafic under its occupant-protection protocol, the result belongs on this page. ANCAP's only Trafic assessment is likewise its commercial-van comparison, an equipment grade for the cargo version rather than an occupant-protection star rating. If ANCAP rates a Trafic under its standard protocol, the result belongs here. |
| Airbags | 6noteSix airbags - driver, passenger, front side and front curtain - on the Evolution. |
| Airbag positions | Driver, Front Passenger, Front Side, CurtainnoteSix airbags standard on every derivative including the Evolution — front airbags for driver and passenger, front side airbags and full-length curtains. Reported identically by two South African launch drives. |
| Warranty | 5 yearsnoteRenault South Africa's Trafic Passenger brochure (SA-14S, dated 2026-08): "Enjoy complete peace of mind with a standard 5 year/150 000 km mechanical warranty and 5 year/ 90 000 km service plan." |
| Warranty distance | 150 000 km 30 000 km/year · derived Compare warranties across all SUVs →noteFrom the same sentence: "5 year/150 000 km mechanical warranty" - a distance cap, so “Warranty distance unlimited” is false. At 150 000 km this is the longest warranty distance in the catalogue. |
| Service plan | 6 services / 5 years / 90 000 km |
| How it is supplied | Included with the vehicle |
| Service interval (distance) | 15 000 kmnote15 000 km, consistent with the 5-year/90 000 km service plan. |
| Spare wheel | Not stated Compare spare wheels across all SUVs → |
| Service network | ~78 authorised service points, as at 1 September 2026 In all 9 provinces. 80 unique entries in Renault SA’s dealer locator, less Renault Botswana and Renault Windhoek, gives 78; 9 of 9 sampled dealers offer servicing. Compare service networks across all brands →noteAbout 78 Renault service points: the count from Renault South Africa’s locator, with servicing confirmed on a sample. |
What we can't tell you yet
Everything below was searched for. Lines marked (unverified) show a figure that only one source gives, or that sources disagree on; the rest have not been published anywhere we could find for this version.
These gaps are recorded for the Evolution. Other derivatives in this range differ.
- CO2 emissions — Not published for the South African Trafic Passenger. The same United Kingdom nine-seater gives 184 g/km, and is not used here for the reason set out against the acceleration figure.
- Kerb weight — Renault publishes no kerb weight for the Trafic Passenger in South Africa. The nearest foreign figure belongs to a United Kingdom nine-seater whose towing rating differs from the South African car by nearly a tonne, so its weights are not transferable.
- Gross vehicle mass — No gross vehicle mass is published for the South African Trafic Passenger, and the nearest foreign figure is rejected for the same reason as the kerb weight.
- Payload — Renault does not publish a payload for the Trafic Passenger in South Africa. The 1 279 kg figure reported locally belongs to the Trafic Panel Van, a different vehicle, so it is not used here.
- Towing (unbraked) — Renault publishes the braked towing figure for South Africa but not the unbraked one, and the foreign figure comes from a vehicle whose own braked rating does not match ours.
- Spare wheel — Renault's South African brochure for the Trafic Passenger does not mention a spare wheel, and no local dealer listing or launch report states what it carries.















